Hogan and Fennelly on Kilkenny bench as Cody rings changes for Leinster final

Galway make three changes of their own, including the return of Joe Canning, for Sunday’s final.

Can Cody and Kilkenny turn the tables, or will it be Donoghue and Galway's day in the sun again?
Can Cody and Kilkenny turn the tables, or will it be Donoghue and Galway's day in the sun again?
Image: Oisin Keniry/INPHO

RICHIE HOGAN AND Colin Fennelly are both set to start Sunday’s Leinster hurling final on the Kilkenny bench.

Brian Cody has made five changes to his side for the Croke Park showdown against reigning provincial and All-Ireland champions Galway (4pm).

Hogan made his first start of the campaign last time out against Wexford, but he and Fennelly were both hauled ashore at half-time with Kilkenny seven points down.

Cody has rewarded the two men he introduced in their place that day, Martin Keoghan and Richie Leahy, who helped the Cats bounce back to win by a single point and book their place in the final.

There’s a championship debut for Billy Ryan of Graigue-Ballycallan in the full-forward line, with Joey Holden and Ger Aylward also named to start while Bill Sheehan and Luke Scanlon are forced to make do with a place on the bench.

Unbeaten Galway make three changes of their own with Adrian Tuohy, Johnny Coen and Joe Canning all restored to the starting lineup by manager Micheál Donoghue after sitting out the final round-robin match against Dublin.


1. James Skehill (Cappataggle)

2. Adrian Tuohy (Beagh)
3. Daithi Burke (Turloughmore)
4. John Hanbury (Rahoon-Newcastle)

5. Padraig Mannion (Ahascragh/Fohenagh)
6. Gearoid McInerney (Oranmore-Maree)
7. Aidan Harte (Gort)

8. Johnny Coen (Loughrea)
9. David Burke (St Thomas’)

10. Joseph Cooney (Sarsfields)
11. Joe Canning (Portumna)
12. Niall Burke (Oranmore-Maree)

13. Conor Whelan (Kinvara)
14. Conor Cooney (St Thomas’)
15. Cathal Mannion (Ahascragh/Fohenagh)


1. Eoin Murphy (Glenmore)

2. Paul Murphy (Danesfort)
3. Padraig Walsh (Tullaroan)
4. Paddy Deegan (O’Loughlin Gaels)

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

5. Joey Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
6. Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro – captain)
7. Enda Morrissey (Bennettsbridge)

8. Conor Fogarty (Erin’s Own)
9. James Maher (St Lachtains)

10. Martin Keoghan (Tullaroan)
11. TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
12. Richie Leahy (Rower Inistioge)

13. Billy Ryan (Graigue-Ballycallan)
14. Walter Walsh (Tullogher Rosbercon)
15. Ger Aylward (Glenmore)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Clare trust unchanged side to win their first Munster title in 20 years

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel