This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 8 °C Saturday 4 April, 2020

Brian Coady and Tommy Walsh in the Kilkenny team for minor hurling clash with Offaly

There are six members of the victorious St Kieran’s Croke Cup winning team in the starting line-up.

Tommy Walsh lifts the Croke Cup at Semple Stadium.
Tommy Walsh lifts the Croke Cup at Semple Stadium.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

KILKENNY MANAGER PAT Hoban has included six players who started for St Kieran’s in their recent Croke Cup final victory in his team to face Offaly in Saturday’s Electric Ireland Leinster minor hurling championship opener.

Tommy Walsh, Evan Carroll, Darren Mullen, Joe Connolly, Edmond Delaney and Colum Prendiville played against Ardscoil Rís as St Kieran’s claimed a third successive All-Ireland Colleges A title win – and a 21st in total.

Matt Kenny, Martin Keoghan and Edward Moylan also lined out at Semple Stadium and are named among the subs for Kilkenny, who are chasing a fourth Leinster crown in a row.

It’s Tommy Walsh’s third year in the Kilkenny minor ranks and he’s a three-time Croke Cup medallist with St Kieran’s.

Walsh, from the Tullaroan club and a second cousin of his famous namesake, also won an All-Ireland minor medal with Kilkenny in 2014.

Colum Prendiville is another key player to look out for on the Kilkenny team.

A former Ireland basketball international at underage level, the Graigue-Ballycallan player has devoted more time to hurling this year and has now broken onto the Kilkenny minor team.

Throw-in at Nowlan Park on Saturday is at 3pm.


1. Liam Dunphy (Lisdowney)

2. Brian Coady (St Martins)
3. Tommy Walsh (Tullaroan)
4. Evan Carroll (Dicksboro)

5. Jordan Molloy (O’Loughlin Gaels)
6. Darren Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
7. Joe Connolly (Clara)

8. Edmond Delaney (Conahy Shamrocks)
9. Chris Kavanagh (Dicksboro – captain)

10. John Donnelly (Thomastown)
11. Colum Prendiville (Graigue-Ballycallan)
12. Shane Mahony (O’Loughlin Gaels)

13. Sean Bolger (O’Loughlin Gaels)
14. James Bergin (Conahy Shamrocks)
15. Sean Buggy (Erin’s Own)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Seanie Johnston returns for Cavan as Sean Cavanagh makes landmark Tyrone appearance

Maurice Shanahan sees specialist in a bid to shake off groin injury for league final

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel