Kilkenny land 30 points en route to completing U21 and minor Leinster hurling double

Eddie Brennan’s Cats were in electric form in Nowlan Park tonight.

Image: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Kilkenny 0-30

Wexford 1-14

EDDIE BRENNAN’S KILKENNY inflicted a second Leinster final defeat on Wexford in the space of four days this evening in Nowlan Park.

The Cats lifted the provincial U21 hurling crown for the first time since 2012 and booked their place in the last four of the All-Ireland series. Kilkenny will face the Ulster champions in the semi-final on 19 August.

Brian Cody was in attendance as Kilkenny enjoyed a comfortable victory, putting up an impressive 30 points in the 60 minutes of action.

A red card for Brian Quigley in the 19th minute scuppered Wexford’s chances and from that point the result never looked in doubt.

Kilkenny blew Wexford away early on but Stephen O’Gorman gave the away side hope with a well-taken goal against the run of play.

Kilkenny led by 0-17 to 1-6 at the interval, with Liam Blanchfield, Alan Murphy and Richie Leahy all looking menacing in attack for the eventual winners.

Brian Quigley is sent off by Patrick Murphy Brian Quigley is sent off by Patrick Murphy Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

John Doyle, Cathal Dunbar and Rory O’Connor hit good scores in the second-half for the Model who never gave up, but Kilkenny were always in control.

Pat Lyng and subs Shane Walsh (2) and Luke Scanlon put the icing on the cake late on as the Cats racked up a massive tally.

Scorers for Kilkenny: Richie Leahy 0-5, Alan Murphy 0-5f (0-5f), Luke Scanlon 0-4, James Bergin 0-3 (0-3f), Jason Cleere 0-3, Billy Ryan, Sean Morrissey and John Donnelly 0-2 each, Liam Blanchfield, Pat Lyng, Eoin Kenny and Shane Walsh 0-1 each.

Scorers for Wexford: Joe Coleman 0-5 (0-5f), Stephen O’Gorman 1-0, John Doyle 0-2 (0-1f), Cathal Dunbar and Rory O’Connor 0-2 each, Joe O’Connor, Cormac Moore and Darren Codd 0-1 each.


Darren Brennan

Michael Cody
Conor Delaney
James Burke

Darren Mullen
Jason Cleere
Tommy Walsh

Luke Scanlon
Pat Lyng

Alan Murphy
John Donnelly
Sean Morrissey

Richie Leahy
Liam Blanchfield
Billy Ryan


Ryan Bergin for Burke (31)
James Bergin for Murphy (39)
Eoin Kenny for Blanchfield (44)
John Walsh for Ryan (50)
Shane Walsh for Donnelly (57)


Darragh Hughes

Gavin Cooney
Reports From Qatar

Get Gavin's exclusive writing and analysis from the 2022 Fifa World Cup

Become a Member

Conor Firman
Darren Byrne
Shane Reck

Brian Quigley
Aaron Maddock
Gary Molloy

Joe O’Connor
Rowan White

Sam Kelly
Rory O’Connor
Joe Coleman

Cathal Dunbar
Stephen O’Gorman
Harry O’Connor


Jake Firman for Kelly (31)
Darren Codd for H. O’Connor (35)
John Doyle for Coleman (40)
Cormac Moore for White (45)
Darragh Pepper for O’Gorman (48)

Referee: Patrick Murphy (Carlow)

Champions Cork set for rematch of 2016 semi-final with Monaghan after senior championship draw

As it happened: Kilkenny v Wexford U21 final, Kildare v Dublin minor semi-final – Leinster GAA match tracker

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next: