This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 16 °C Saturday 4 July, 2020

McGrath hits 0-15 as Kilmacud Crokes claim extra-time Leinster hurling victory

The result means Ollie Baker’s side advance to face the Kilkenny representatives in the provincial semi-final.

Kilmacud Crokes' Sean McGrath scored an impressive 15 points.
Kilmacud Crokes' Sean McGrath scored an impressive 15 points.
Image: Tommy Grealy/INPHO

Kilmacud Crokes (Dublin) 0-23

Rathdowney-Errill (Laois) 0-22

CAPTAIN SEAN MCGRATH led by example with a stunning 15 points as Dublin champions Kilmacud Crokes braved an extra-time time epic to advance in the Leinster club hurling championship.

The free-taker delivered 12 of his haul in normal time and added three more in a rip-roaring extra period that Crokes just about edged.

The result means Ollie Baker’s side advance to face the Kilkenny representatives in the provincial semi-final on November 23.

Both sides will feel they had opportunities to seal the deal in normal time.

Rathdowney-Errill, chasing just a second-ever win in the Leinster club championship, scored the last four points of the hour and had momentum on their side.

But while they drew level at 0-17 apiece, they weren’t able to kick on and shot two late wides to ensure the extra 20 minutes.

Crokes surely felt better about playing extra-time. Aside from being lucky to escape in normal time, they also had vital experience of beating St Jude’s after extra-time at the same venue in the county final.

Twice, they led by four in normal time — at half-time, when they were 0-11 to 0-7 up and with nine minutes to go, when they were 0-17 to 0-13 ahead.

But even with Sean McGrath helping himself to a dozen points, they couldn’t hold on, and were suckered by late Rathdowney scores from Ross and Darren King, and Paddy Purcell.

Crokes availed of the breeze to lead by 0-21 to 0-19 at half-time of extra-time.

McGrath added three more converted frees, while former county player Ross O’Carroll opened his account.

And despite being outscored by 0-3 to 0-2 in the second-half of extra-time, the Glenalbyn men just about held on to progress to the province’s last four.


Scorers for Kilmacud Crokes
Sean McGrath 0-15 (0-12f, 0-1 65), Caolan Conway 0-3 (0-1f), Ryan O’Dwyer, Barry O’Rorke, Damien Kelly, Ross O’Carroll, Conor Clinton 0-1
Scorers for Rathdowney-Errill
Ross King 0-13 (0-10f), Tadhg Dowling, Patrick Purcell, John Purcell 0-2, Darren King, Enda Meagher, Eoin Burke 0-1


1. Matt Collins

2. Niall Corcoran
3. Rory O’Carroll
4. Jamie Clinton

5. Cian MacGabhann
6. Jack Dougan
7. Bill O’Carroll

8. Dillon Mulligan
11. Damien Kelly

9. Ross O’Carroll
10. Ryan O’Dwyer
19. Jude Sweeney

13. Caolan Conway
12. Sean McGrath
15. Barry O’Rorke

17. Robert Murphy for B O’Carroll (40)
18. Barry Mulligan for MacGabhann (44)
14. Oisin O’Rorke for B O’Rorke (49)
25. Conor Clinton for B Mulligan (70+2)
23. James Burke for D Mulligan (73)
22. Paddy Bergin for McGrath (75)


1. Noel Brennan

2. Alan Delaney
3. Brian Campion
4. James Corrigan

5. Joe Fitzpatrick
6. Pat Mahon
7. Liam O’Connell

8. Shane Dollard
9. Patrick Purcell

12. John Purcell
17. James Ryan
10. Enda Meagher

13. Mark Kavanagh
14. Ross King
15. Tadhg Dowling

21. Damien Bowe for Ryan (37)
11. Darren King for Meagher (h/t)
18. Liam Tynan for Kavanagh (57)
13. Kavanagh for D King (70+2)
23. Eoin Burke for Tynan (h/t e/t)

Referee: Paud O’Dwyer (Carlow).

LIVE: Kilkenny and Tipperary hurling and the rest of your Sunday GAA club championship match tracker>

As It Happened: Austin Stacks v Mid Kerry, Kerry senior football final replay>

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Paul Keane

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel