Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 11°C Saturday 24 October 2020

Sexton out as Cullen makes four changes for Castres

Joey Carbery comes in at 10 for the Blues.

LEINSTER HEAD COACH Leo Cullen has made four changes from the side that beat Munster last weekend as they get set to take on Castres in the first round of the European Rugby Champions Cup in the RDS Arena tomorrow (Kick Off: 3.15pm – live on BT Sport and RTÉ Radio One).

Joey Carbery Joey Carbery will make his European debut for Leinster tomorrow as Sexton sits out. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

After feeling tightness in his hamstring in training this week, Johnny Sexton drops out of the starting XV for the Pool 4 encounter with Joey Carbery taking his place alongside Luke McGrath.

Rob Kearney continues at full back but Zane Kirchner comes in on the right wing with captain Isa Nacewa again selected on the left.

Robbie Henshaw will make his first start for the Blues at the RDS alongside Gary Ringrose who’ll wear the number 13 jersey again.

In the forwards, Jack McGrath will win his 100th cap for the province alongside Sean Cronin and Tadhg Furlong in the front row while it’s as you were in the second row with Devin Toner and Ian Nagle.

The final change sees Josh van der Flier come in at open side while Rhys Ruddock and Jamie Heaslip join him in the back row.

Leinster XV

15. Rob Kearney
14. Zane Kirchner
13. Garry Ringrose
12. Robbie Henshaw
11. Isa Nacewa (captain)
10. Joey Carbery
9. Luke McGrath

1. Jack McGrath
2. Sean Cronin
3. Tadhg Furlong
4. Devin Toner
5. Ian Nagle
6. Rhys Ruddock
7. Josh van der Flier
8. Jamie Heaslip


16. James Tracy
17. Cian Healy
18. Mike Ross
19. Ross Molony
20. Dan Leavy
21. Jamison Gibson-Park
22. Cathal Marsh
23. Noel Reid

Keith Earls misses out as Munster name side for trip to Paris

Reddan only missing the daily grind after seamless switch to post-rugby role

About the author:

Steve O'Rourke

Read next: