Donall Farmer/INPHO Ciaran Carey managed the LimericK U21 hurlers this year.

Two new Limerick hurling bosses were ratified tonight

The minor and U21 positions will be rubberstamped tonight.

Updated at 9pm.

LIMERICK DELEGATES TONIGHT voted on new minor and U21 hurling bosses after Munster winning boss Brian Ryan and legendary player Ciaran Carey did not have their respective terms extended.

Leo O’Connor, who steered Limerick to the Munster title win in thrilling fashion at U21 level against Cork after extra-time in 2011, will take over as the county minor boss with nobody voting against the proposal. The Claughaun man won an All-Ireland minor medal with Limerick in 1984 and this year he was manager of the Limerick U15 side and also coached the Mayo senior hurlers.

John Kiely, a selector alongside John Allen when Limerick won the Munster senior title last summer, is the new U21 hurling manager. He too was selected unopposed.

Ryan had guided Limerick to the last two Munster minor crowns and they came up just short in the recent All-Ireland final against Kilkenny. Carey was in charge of the county U21 side for a one-year stint but they were defeated by Clare back in June in the Munster quarter-final.

The appointments had been agreed at an officers meeting of Limerick GAA on Monday night and are were just subject to ratification by club delegates tonight.

You have to see Diarmuid Connolly’s volleyed goal after a 40-yard run last night

Clare All-Ireland winning coach to take break from senior setup in 2015

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.