Saturday 4 February 2023 Dublin: 11°C
Presseye/Lorcan Doherty/INPHO Mikey Sweeney bags Mayo's second goal of the game.
# Oh The Green And Red
Mayo pick up key win away to Derry as Ronaldson and Sweeney bag goals
Two-point victory for the Pat Holmes and Noel Connelly managed side.

Mayo 2-12
Derry 1-13

GOALS FROM MARK Ronaldson and Mikey Sweeney helped Mayo claim the spoils away to Derry this afternoon in Division 1 of the Allianz football league.

The success means Mayo stay in the hunt for a semi-final spot as they are joint top with Cork tonight but the Rebels have the edge on scoring difference.

Mayo had enjoyed a 1-7 to 0-6 lead at the break with the goal coming from Ronaldson when he found the net in the 29th minute after Cillian O’Connor’s free had hit the post.

Derry fought back bravely in the second-half with substitute James Kielt and attacker Benny Heron notching some key points. They drew level at one juncture, 1-10 to 0-13, but crucially could not forge ahead.

Visitors Mayo were able important points to go in front and then they grabbed their second goal late on through substitute Sweeney.

Derry responded immediately with a late goal from Brian Óg McGilligan but their relegation fears continue as they face into upcoming trips to play Monaghan and Dublin.

Mayo’s confidence levels will rise after this triumph as they get set to entertain Dublin in Castlebar next Saturday night.

Mark Donaldson celebrates his goal Presseye / Lorcan Doherty/INPHO Mark Ronaldson fires home Mayo's first goal of the day. Presseye / Lorcan Doherty/INPHO / Lorcan Doherty/INPHO

Scorers for Mayo: Mark Ronaldson 1-2, Cillian O’Connor 0-4 (0-3f), Mikey Sweeney 1-0, Aidan O’Shea 0-3, Kevin McLoughlin 0-2, Jason Doherty 0-1.

Scorers for Derry: Benny Heron (0-2f, 0-2 ’45), James Kielt (0-3f) 0-4 each, Brian Óg McGilligan 1-0, Mark Lynch 0-2, Brian Óg McAlary, Mark Craig, Tom O’Brien 0-1 each.


1. Kenneth O’Malley – Ballinrobe

2. Tom Cunniffe – Castlebar Mitchels
3. Kevin Keane – Westport
4. Keith Higgins – Ballyhaunis (Capt.)

5. Lee Keegan – Westport
6. Ger Cafferkey – Ballina Stephenites
7. Colm Boyle – Davitts

8. Seamus O’Shea – Breaffy
9. Danny Kirby – Castlebar Mitchels

10. Kevin McLoughlin – Knockmore
11. Aidan O’Shea – Breaffy
12. Micheál Forde – Ballycastle

13. Mark Ronaldson – Shrule/Glencorrib
14. Cillian O’Connor – Ballintubber
15. Jason Doherty – Burrishoole​

Alan Dillon (Ballintubber) for Forde (48)
Barry Moran (Castlebar Mitchels) for Kirby (55)
Alan Freeman (Aghamore) for O’Connor (61)
David Drake (Ballaghaderreen) for Cafferkey (61)
Mikey Sweeney (Kiltane) for Ronaldson (black card) (65)

Seamus O'Shea with Mark Lynch, Emmet McGuckin and Enda Lynn Presseye / Lorcan Doherty/INPHO Mayo and Derry players battle for possession. Presseye / Lorcan Doherty/INPHO / Lorcan Doherty/INPHO


1. Eoin McNicholl – Glenullin

2. Oisin Duffy – Foreglen
3. Niall Holly – Eoghan Rua, Coleraine
4. Dermot McBride – Ballinascreen

5. Brian Óg McAlary – Kilrea
6. Kevin Johnston – Dungiven
7. Sean Leo McGoldrick – Eoghan Rua, Coleraine

8. Mark Craig – Dungiven
9. Brian Óg McGilligan – Banagher

10. Carlus McWilliams – Ballinascreen
11. Mark Lynch – Banagher
12. Enda Lynn – Greenlough

13. Daniel McKinless – Ballinderry
14. Benny Heron – Ballinascreen
15. Aidan McAlynn – The Loup

M McIver for McAlynn (31)
James Kielt for McKinless (half-time)
Emmett McGuckin for McAlary (48),
Tom O’Brien for McWilliams (57)
S Brady for Kielt (bc, 68)

This article was first published on 8 March at 6.30pm

Monaghan claim late away victory over Donegal in drab affair

Five first-half goals but Cork celebrate at finish with 11-point win over Kerry

Your Voice
Readers Comments