This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 15 °C Monday 13 July, 2020

Mayo avoid Ruislip scare to set up semi-final clash with Galway

There was no repeat of the 2011 meeting between the teams as Mayo ran out comfortable winners.

Mayo's Aidan O'Shea under pressure from London's Ciaran Dunne.
Mayo's Aidan O'Shea under pressure from London's Ciaran Dunne.
Image: Gerry McManus/INPHO

Mayo 2-16
London 0-9

AFTER BEING PUSHED to the pin of their collar when they last touched down in Ruislip, Mayo just wanted to get in and out of London’s home ground with the minimum of fuss and that’s what they did this afternoon.

London had four homegrown players in their starting 15 and also had three Mayo natives — full-back Caoimhin Carty (Aghamore), centre-back Danny Ryan (Kilmeena) and midfielder James Moran (Burrishoole) — in the side that started, as well as two more — Conor Campbell (Swinford) and Michael Walsh (Ardnaree) — who were looking to get a run out against their home county.

Mayo could have feared they were in for a tough encounter again when Cillian O’Connor was shown a black card after seven minutes, but it was the man who replaced him, Conor Loftus, who hit the first goal of the game and put Mayo into a 1-4 to 0-1 lead after 19 minutes.

Up to that point, London had been competing well but their short kick-out strategy was under pressure right from the off and, 11 minutes before the break, Jason Doherty found the net direct from Kevin McLoughlin winning one of Gavin McEvoys kick outs.

Jason Doherty scores a goal Jason Doherty scores Mayo's second goal. Source: Gerry McManus/INPHO

That put Mayo 2-6 to 0-2 up, and while the hosts did rally to reel off three points on the bounce — with Adrian Moyles getting two of them — Mayo pushed back before the break and led by 2-8 to 0-5.

Evan Regan, who picked up the man-of-the-match award and kicked seven points over the 70 minutes, got things going in the second half with an expertly-taken effort from right to the sideline. The young Ballina man, who took over free-taking duties after O’Connor had been black-carded, was a constant threat throughout the game.

It was just a matter of seeing things out for Mayo as the second period progressed as they had the London challenge well broken at that stage.

Manager Stephen Rochford gave game-time to veterans like Andy Moran and Alan Dillon, with Moran having an instant impact, kicking two fine points from play not long after his introduction.

Enda Kenny enjoys the game An Taoiseach, Enda Kenny, was among the spectators at Ruislip. Source: Gerry McManus/INPHO

Shane Nally got his first championship taste when he was introduced from the bench for Colm Boyle and the Garrymore man didn’t put a foot wrong either during his cameo.

Next up for Rochford is a meeting with some old friends, when Galway come calling to Castlebar for a Connacht semi-final in three weeks’ time.

Scorers for Mayo: E Regan 0-7 (5f), C Loftus 1-2, J Doherty 1-0, A Moran 0-2, A O’Shea, K McLoughlin, S Nally, A Dillon, R Hennelly (’45) 0-1 each.

London: A Moyles 0-4 (2f), L Gavaghan 0-2, M Gottsche, S Conory, E Murray 0-1 each.


1. Robbie Hennelly (Breaffy)

2. Brendan Harrison (Aghamore)
3. Kevin Keane (Westport)
4. Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis)

5. Lee Keegan (Westport)
6. Colm Boyle (Davitts)
7. Patrick Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels)

21. Stephen Coen (Hollymout-Carramore)
9. Jason Gibbons (Ballintubber)

10. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)
11. Aidan O’Shea (Breaffy)
12. Jason Doherty (Burrishoole)

13. Evan Regan (Ballina Stephenites)
14. Cillian O’Connor (Ballintubber)
15. Conor O’Shea (Breaffy)


23. Conor Loftus (Crossmolina) for O’Connor (BC)
19. Shane Nally (Garrymore) for Boyle
24. Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen) for C O’Shea
22. Cathal Carolan (Crossmolina) for Doherty
26. Alan Dillon (Ballintubber) for Gibbons
17. David Drake (Ballaghderreen) for Keegan


1. Gavin McEvoy (Tir Chonaill Gaels)

2. Philip Butler (Tir Chonaill Gaels)
3. Caoimhin Carty (Kingdom Kerry Gaels)
4. Ciaran Dunne (Garryowen)

5. Colin Dunne (Round Towers)
6. Danny Ryan (St Kiernan’s)
7. David McGreevy (Kingdom Kerry Gaels)

8. James Moran (St. Kiernan’s)
9. Liam Gavaghan (Tir Chonaill Gaels)

10. Adrian Moyles (St. Kiernan’s)
11. Mark Gottsche (Tir Chonaill Gaels)
12. Cormac Coyne (North London Shamrocks)

13. Eoin Murray (Garryowen)
14. Scott Conroy (North London Shamrocks)
15. Patrick O’Hara (North London Shamrocks)


22. Lorcan Mulvey (Fulham Irish) for O’Hara (45)
19. Ciaran Healy (St Kiernan’s) for Colin Dunne (45)
20. Cathal Og Greene (St Kiernan’s) for Conroy (62)
18. Michael Walsh (Fulham Irish) for Coyne (62)
23. Sean Hickey (Round Towers) for Ciaran Dunne (67)
17. Conor O’Neill (Kingdom Kerry Gaels) for Murray (67)

Referee: Derek O’Mahony (Tipperary)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

Clare book semi-final showdown with Kerry as they prove too strong for Limerick

Robbie Henshaw’s socks, Westmeath hurling nerves and more in our tweets of the week

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Colm Gannon

Read next: