Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 6°C Thursday 26 November 2020


34,608 Views 2 Comments

Afternoon all and welcome to today’s live coverage of the Connacht semi-final between Roscommon and Mayo. Here’s how the sides are named to start:


1. David Clarke – Ballina Stephenites

2. Oisín Mullin – Kilmaine
3. Chris Barrett – Clontarf
4. Lee Keegan – Westport

5. Patrick Durcan – Castlebar Mitchels
6. Stephen Coen – Hollymount/Carramore
7. Eoghan McLaughlin – Westport

8. Matthew Ruane – Breaffy
9. Conor Loftus – Crossmolina Deel Rovers

10. Bryan Walsh – Ballintubber
11. Ryan O’Donoghue – Belmullet
12. Diarmuid O’Connor – Ballintubber

13. Tommy Conroy – The Neale
14. Aidan O’Shea – Breaffy
15. Cillian O’Connor – Ballintubber


1. Colm Lavin – Éire Óg

2. David Murray – Padraig Pearses
3. Conor Daly – Padraig Pearses
4. Sean Mullooly – Strokestown

5. Ronan Daly – Padraig Pearses
6. Brian Stack – St Brigids
7. Niall Daly – Padraig Pearses

8. Cathal Compton – Strokestown
9. Tadhg O’Rourke – Tulsk

10. Niall Kilroy – Fuerty
11. Enda Smith – Boyle
12. Cian McKeon – Boyle

13. Donie Smith – Boyle
14. Conor Cox – Éire Óg
15. Cathal Cregg – Western Gaels

Galway await in the final after receiving a walkover from Covid-hit Sligo. Who do you fancy to prevail today?

Poll Results:

Mayo (318)
Roscommon (162)

Roscommon won the toss and will play against the wind in the first-half. Mayo have made one change with Kevin McLoughlin replacing Bryan Walsh.

Roscommon 0-0 Mayo 0-1

1 min – Cillian O’Connor gives Mayo the lead from a free. 

Roscommon 0-1 Mayo 0-1

4 mins – Kerry native Conor Cox wins a mark and slots it between the posts for the Rossies.

Roscommon 0-1 Mayo 0-2

6 mins – Paddy Durcan drives forward and opens his account for the day.

Roscommon 0-1 Mayo 0-3

8 mins – O’Connor slots over his second free of the day. It arrived after Colm Lavin was turned over as he came out with the ball. 

Roscommon 0-2 Mayo 0-3

9 mins – Tadhg O’Rourke slots over a score for the Rossies. 

Roscommon 0-2 Mayo 0-4

9 mins – Diarmuid O’Connor slots over a fine effort from the outside of the right. 

Roscommon 0-2 Mayo 0-5

13 mins – Kevin McLoughlin swings over from the corner.

Roscommon 0-2 Mayo 0-6

13 mins – Cillian O’Connor slots over his third after a nice assist from McLoughlin.


GOAL! Diarmuid O’Connor strokes home an early goal for Mayo against Roscommon.

That’s the first time Roscommon have conceded a goal in a competitive game since the league opener back in February. 

Roscommon 0-2 Mayo 1-6

18 mins – Mayo are in full control now as the game resumes after the first-half water break. 

Roscommon 0-2 Mayo 1-7

21 mins – Aidan O’Shea slots over a fine effort off his right foot. At the far end Enda Smith sent a goal chance off the ground tamely into the hands of David Clarke. 

Roscommon 0-3 Mayo 1-7

23 mins – Cian McKeon gets a badly needed score for Roscommon. Remember they’ll have a strong breeze behind them in the second-half.

Roscommon 0-3 Mayo 1-7

25 mins – Durcan and Conor Loftus kick wides as Mayo fail to turn the screw.

Roscommon 0-4 Mayo 1-7

31 mins – Fantastic score by Donie Smith, kicking the point under pressure from Oisin Mullin.

Roscommon 0-4 Mayo 1-8

32 mins – Tommy Conroy opens his account for the day with Mayo’s first score for 10 minutes.

Roscommon 0-5 Mayo 1-8

32 mins – Donie Smith adds another for the hosts. Roscommon haven’t been killed off yet and they’ve a strong bench to bring in after half-time. 

Both sides are unchanged for the second-half. And we’re back underway!

Roscommon 0-5 Mayo 1-9

38 mins – After a lovely Mayo counter-attack, Cillian O’Connor pops it over from close-range.

Roscommon 0-5 Mayo 1-10

39 mins – After a great run through the heart of the Roscommon defence, Mayo’s Ryan O’Donoghue is fouled. Sharpshooter O’Connor slots over the free.

Roscommon 0-5 Mayo 1-11

42 mins – Lee Keegan wins a break at midfield, passes to Diarmuid O’Connor who feeds his brother for another score.

Roscommon 0-6 Mayo 1-11

45 mins – Donie Smith reduces the margin with a free.

Roscommon 0-6 Mayo 1-12

46 mins – Cillian O’Connor is fouled and Sean Mullooly receives a yellow card. O’Connor slots over the close-range free. 

Mayo sub: Mark Moran comes in for Ryan O’Donoghue.

Aidan O’Shea is playing as a third midfielder in this half for Mayo, who are playing a two-man full-forward line of Tommy Conroy and Cillian O’Connor.

Roscommon 0-6 Mayo 1-12

48 mins – Donie Smith kicks Roscommon’s sixth wide.

Roscommon 0-7 Mayo 1-12

49 mins – Cox swings over his second of the day, this one from a free.

Roscommon 0-8 Mayo 1-12

50 mins – Three-in-a-row for Roscommon, the latest from Cox.

Roscommon 0-9 Mayo 1-12

51 mins – Four without reply now for Roscommon after Niall Daly’s booming effort.

Roscommon 0-9 Mayo 1-13

52 mins – Just as the tide was turning against Mayo, Paddy Durcan makes a lungbursting run and scores inside the D.

We’re at the second-half water break now.

Roscommon 0-9 Mayo 1-14

58 mins – Mark Moran – making his championship debut – is fouled and Cillian O’Connor does the business from the placed ball.

Roscommon sub: Ciaran Lennon replaces Conor Cox.

Mayo sub: Jordan Flynn is in for Diarmuid O’Connor.

Roscommon sub: Eddie Nolan replaces Cathal Campton.

Roscommon 0-9 Mayo 1-15

62 mins – Mayo turn over Conor Devanney and O’Connor curls over his ninth point of the day.

Roscommon sub: Diarmuid Murtagh is on for Donie Smith.

Roscommon 0-10 Mayo 1-15

63 mins – Cian McKeon converts a free for Roscommon. They need to get a goal from somewhere soon or their season will be over.

Mayo sub: Rory Brickenden for Matthew Ruane.

Roscommon 0-10 Mayo 1-16

66 mins – Conor Loftus clips over another for Mayo. 

Roscommon 0-11 Mayo 1-15

67 mins – Diarmuid Murtagh pulls one back for Roscommon.

Roscommon 0-12 Mayo 1-16

68 mins – Murtagh again for Roscommon.

Roscommon 0-13 Mayo 1-16

69 mins – Cian McKeon with another free for the Rossies as we approach stoppage-time.

Mayo will face Galway in the Connacht final after a very impressive performance today. 


Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel