Monaghan unveil starting side for football qualifier trip to Carlow

Netwatch Cullen Park is the venue for Saturday’s game.

Malachy O'Rourke leads Monaghan into battle on Saturday.
Malachy O'Rourke leads Monaghan into battle on Saturday.
Image: Tom Beary/INPHO

MONAGHAN TAKE THEIR latest step in their recovery from the Ulster semi-final loss to Down when they face Carlow on Saturday and they’ve named an unchanged team from last weekend’s convincing triumph against Wexford.

Malachy O’Rourke’s side ran out emphatic 3-23 to 1-11 winners at Innovate Wexford Park and their manager has kept faith with that team for trip to Netwatch Cullen Park.

The winners of the Round 3B clash will advance to take on either of the losers of this weekend’s Leinster and Ulster senior finals.

Throw-in on Saturday night is 7pm.


1. Rory Beggan (Scotstown)

2. Fintan Kelly (Clones)
3. Drew Wylie (Ballybay Pearse Brothers)
4. Ryan Wylie (Ballybay Pearse Brothers)

5. Dessie Mone (Clontibret)
6. Colin Walshe (Doohamlet O’Neills)
7. Karl O’Connell (Tyholland)

8. Kieran Hughes (Scotstown)
9. Neil McAdam (Monaghan Harps)

10. Gavin Doogan (Magheracloone)
11. Dermot Malone (Castleblayney Faughs)
12. Shane Carey (Scotstown)

13. Owen Duffy (Latton)
14. Jack McCarron (Currin)
15. Conor McManus (Clontibret O’Neills)


16. Conor Forde (Scotstown)
17. Kieran Duffy (Latton O’Rahilly)
18. James Mealiff (Clones)
19. Brian Greenan (Clontibret O’Neills)
20. Vinny Corey (Clontibret O’Neills)
21. Darren Hughes (Scotstown)
22. Dessie Ward (Ballybay)
23. Ryan McAnespie (Emyvale)
24. Thomas Kerr (Ballybay Pearse Brothers)
25. Conor McCarthy (Scotstown)
26. Darren Freeman (St Brigid’s, Dublin)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Late Dalton goal hands 14-man Cork dramatic win over Waterford in Munster U21 semi-final

Regrets over 2009, connecting with Kildare fans and coaching stints with Waterford and Sligo

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel