Banty names 36-man Monaghan panel for 2020 inter-county football season

Star defender Ryan Wylie will captain the Farney county,

Seamus McEnaney, while in charge of the Monaghan minors in 2018.
Seamus McEnaney, while in charge of the Monaghan minors in 2018.
Image: Oisin Keniry/INPHO

SEAMUS ‘BANTY’ MCENANEY has named his Monaghan senior football panel for the 2020 inter-county season. 

McEnaney’s return for a second stint at the helm was confirmed in September, with the former Meath and Wexford boss previously holding the position between 2004 and 2010. 

He took the reins back from Malachy O’Rourke, who led the county to famous Ulster title wins in 2013 and 2015 and to the last four of the All-Ireland series in 2018, in his seven-year tenure.

McEnaney has released a 36-man panel through Monaghan GAA, with 19 clubs represented in his second coming. Ballybay star defender Ryan Wylie takes over as captain, while Latton’s Kieran Duffy has been named vice-captain.

After the retirements of Clontibret duo Dessie Mone and Vinny Corey, the county champions have four players included — one of those long-time star forward Conor McManus.

ryan-wylie Ryan Wylie will captain the side. Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Scotstown, whose five-in-a-row bid was ended in the decider, are the club with the most representatives in six. Goalkeeper Rory Beggan and brothers Darren and Kieran Hughes are among the Scotstown contingent.

Banty is without another stalwart, Gavin Doogan, who followed Mone and Corey into retirement, though he’s on a magical run with his club Magheracloone Mitchells.

The panel in full, released by Monaghan GAA, can be found below, while the Ulster men open their 2020 campaign on the 29 December against Derry in the McKenna Cup.

Monaghan senior panel for 2020

Michael Bannigan

Christopher McGuinness
Dessie Ward
Drew Wylie
Ryan Wylie (Captain)

Phillip Donnelly

Dermot Malone

Fintan Kelly
James Mealiff

Conor McManus
Conor Boyle
Killian Lavelle
Michael Paul O’Dowd

Keith Mc Enaney
Pádraic Keenan

Jack McCarron

Barry McBennett
Barry McGinn
Colin Walshe

Robbie McAllister
Ryan McAnespie

Andrew Woods

Gavin Cooney
Reports From Qatar

Get Gavin's exclusive writing and analysis from the 2022 Fifa World Cup

Become a Member

Aaron Mulligan
Kieran Duffy (Vice Captain)

David Kirk

Monaghan Harps
Kevin Loughran

Jason Irwin

Conor Mc Carthy
Darren Hughes
Kieran Hughes
Rory Beggan
Ryan O Toole
Shane Carey

Seán Mc Dermotts
Niall Kearns

Gary Mohan

Karl O’Connell.

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

About the author:

Emma Duffy

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel