This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 11 °C Wednesday 23 October, 2019

Murray fit to start, while Munster also bring back Earls, Zebo and Ryan

The southern province have named a strong team to face Toulouse in Limerick tomorrow.

RASSIE ERASMUS HAS named Conor Murray in his Munster team to face Toulouse in their Champions Cup quarter-final at Thomond Park tomorrow [KO 5.45pm, Sky Sports 2].

Simon Zebo celebrates scoring their first try with Conor Murray Murray has been named in Munster's number nine shirt. Source: Dan Sheridan/INPHO

The scrum-half has been struggling with a shoulder injury since Ireland’s defeat to Wales in the Six Nations three weeks ago, but he has come through Munster’s training week to be named in the nine shirt for tomorrow’s huge European clash.

Murray is joined in returning to the Munster XV by fellow Ireland internationals Keith Earls, Donnacha Ryan and Simon Zebo.

In further boosts for Munster, Jack O’Donoghue, Andrew Conway and Francis Saili have recovered from injury issues to feature on the bench.

Murray is partnered by Kiwi out-half Tyler Bleyendaal in the halfbacks, while Rory Scannell and Jaco Taute will continue their productive midfield combination. Zebo is at 15, as Earls and Darren Sweetnam get the nod out wide, meaning Conway is restricted to a replacement spot.


Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell and John Ryan make up the front row, with Billy Holland earning selection in the second row alongside Ryan. A back row of captain Peter O’Mahony, Tommy O’Donnell and CJ Stander promises work rate and dynamism.

Dave O’Callaghan has been named as the replacement second row, with injuries affecting the province in that area, while Saili returns from injury to provide cover in the backline.

Munster (v Toulouse):

15. Simon Zebo
14. Darren Sweetnam
13. Jaco Taute
12. Rory Scannell
11. Keith Earls
10. Tyler Bleyendaal
9. Conor Murray

1. Dave Kilcoyne
2. Niall Scannell
3. John Ryan
4. Donnacha Ryan
5. Billy Holland
6. Peter O’Mahony (captain)
7. Tommy O’Donnell
8. CJ Stander


16. Rhys Marshall
17. James Cronin
18. Stephen Archer
19. Dave O’Callaghan
20. Jack O’Donoghue
21. Duncan Williams
22. Francis Saili
23. Andrew Conway


15. Maxime Médard
14. Yoann Huget
13. Gaël Fickou
12. Florian Fritz
11. Paul Perez
10. Jean-Marc Doussain
9. Sébastien Bézy

1. Cyril Baille
2. Leonardo Ghiraldini
3. Census Johnston
4. Richie Gray
5. Yoann Maestri
6. Thierry Dusautoir (captain)
7. Yacouba Camara
8. François Cros


16. Julien Marchand
17. Gurthrö Steenkamp
18. Dorian Aldegheri
19. Tala Gray
20. Piula Fa’asalele
21. Joe Tekori
22. Luke McAlister
23. Arthur Bonneval

Referee: JP Doyle [RFU].

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Doussain starts at 10 against Munster as Toulouse go for beefy 6-2 bench split

Forwards coach Duffy vows that Connacht will keep up chase for Champions Cup spot

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Murray Kinsella

Read next: