Dublin: 10°C Monday 25 October 2021

Munster bolstered by returning internationals for trip to Scarlets

Connacht have also named their side for Sunday’s meeting with the Dragons.

Ian Keatley was a late withdrawal last week due to illness.
Ian Keatley was a late withdrawal last week due to illness.
Image: Donall Farmer/INPHO

ANTHONY FOLEY HAS made eight changes to his Munster side for tomorrow’s trip to Wales for their Pro12 meeting with Scarlets as Tommy O’Donnell, Felix Jones and Ian Keatley all return from international duty.

Keatley was named in last week’s team to play Cardiff Blues after being left out of the Ireland panel for the Six Nations game with France but was forced to withdraw before kick-off due to illness.

The out-half resumes his partnership with Duncan Williams while Denis Hurley skippers the side once again from midfield. Andrew Conway, Luke O’Dea and Jones make up the back three.

Foley has opted to name a new front row for the visit to Parc y Scarlets with Dave Kilcoyne, Kevin O’Byrne and Stephen Archer all starting.

Last Saturday’s 33-16 win over Cardiff at Musgrave Park moved Munster up to second in the standings behind Glasgow after both Ospreys and Leinster slipped up.

With Glasgow not playing until later in the day, Munster have the opportunity to leapfrog the Scottish side with a win in Wales.

The game kicks-off at 2.40pm and is live on Sky Sports.


15. Felix Jones

14. Andrew Conway

13. Keith Earls

12. Denis Hurley

11. Luke O’Dea

10. Ian Keatley

9. Duncan Williams

1. Dave Kilcoyne

2. Kevin O’Byrne

3. Stephen Archer

4. Donncha O’Callaghan

5. Billy Holland

6. Dave O’Callaghan

7. Tommy O’Donnell

8. CJ Stander


16. Eusebio Guinazu

17. John Ryan

18. BJ Botha

19. Jack O’Donoghue

20. Paddy Butler

21. Neil Cronin

22. JJ Hanrahan

23. Ivan Dineen

Connacht, meanwhile, have named their side to face Newport Gwent Dragons on Sunday afternoon.

Rodney Ah You Connacht trained with the Irish squad in Galway this week Source: Dan Sheridan/INPHO

Pat Lam has made three changes to the side that lost at Scarlets last week with Craig Ronaldson returning from injury and John Cooney coming in for injured scrum-half Kieran Marmion.

In the pack, Eoghan Masterson will make his first start of the season at number 8 with George Naoupu dropping out.


15. Darragh Leader

14. Danie Poolman

13. Dave McSharry

12. Craig Ronaldson

11. Matt Healy

10. Jack Carty

9. John Cooney

1. Denis Buckley

2. Tom McCartney

3. Nathan White

4. Quinn Roux

5. Aly Muldowney

6. John Muldoon

7. Jake Heenan

8. Eoghan Masterson


16. Shane Delahunt

17. Rodney Ah You

18. Finlay Bealham

19. Mick Kearney

20. George Naoupu

21. Ian Porter

22. Niyi Adeolokun

23. Tiernan O’Halloran

Hawk-Eye technology will be used in Munster’s Pro12 game tomorrow

‘Cian is a special athlete’ – Leinster boosted by Healy return for Zebre clash

About the author:

Ryan Bailey

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel