This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 5 °C Saturday 14 December, 2019

Poll: Who do you think will win the Munster senior club hurling title?

Ballyea, Thurles Sarsfields, Patrickswell and Glen Rovers are left in the race.

Padraic Maher in action against Patrick Horgan Tipperary's Padraic Maher and Cork's Patrick Horgan will be chasing club glory. Source: Ken Sutton/INPHO

WE’RE DOWN TO the final four in the Munster senior club hurling championship today with places in the decider up for grabs.

In Ennis, Clare’s Ballyea take on Tipperary’s Thurles Sarsfields while at the Gaelic Grounds, Limerick’s Patrickswell meet Cork’s Glen Rovers.

For Ballyea this is unchartered territory after winning their first Clare senior hurling crown last Sunday. In contrast Thurles Sarsfields are seasoned campaigners after this year winning their sixth Tipperary senior hurling championship in eight years.

Patrickswell ended a 13-year drought in Limerick recently but the club have 19 county senior titles to their name. Similarly Glen Rovers ended a barren spell of their own in 2015 by claiming a first Cork crown in 26 years and then last month they retained that title.

Poll: Who do you think will win the Munster senior club hurling title?
1 / 4
  • Graham Callanan lifts the cup as Glen Rovers celebrate

    Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO
  • Thurles Sarsfields' players savour another Tipp win

    Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO
  • Patrickswell captain Thomas O'Brien lifts the cup

    Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO
  • Ballyea celebrating their Clare senior final victory

    Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

On the Munster stage while Ballyea are newcomers, Thurles Sarsfields won the provincial title in 2012 and lost the final in 2010.

Glen Rovers Munster tradition has seen them lift titles in 1964, 1972 and 1976 while Patrickswell won provincial deciders in 1988 and 1990.

The winners of today’s games will meet each other in the final on 20 November.

But with four sides left in the race, who do you think will be claiming silverware?

Let us know

Poll Results:

Thurles Sarfields (2410)
Ballyea (855)
Glen Rovers (706)
Patrickswell (583)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

7 players who were unlucky to miss out on a football All-Star this year

‘They wouldn’t let me get up off the bed, collar on straight away. That was the scariest part of it’

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: