This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 6 °C Friday 18 October, 2019

Keatley starts at fullback as international trio return to Munster XV

Rassie Erasmus makes five changes with injured Kleyn and Taute both ruled out.

Keatley, right: released back to Munster this week.
Keatley, right: released back to Munster this week.
Image: James Crombie/INPHO

IAN KEATLEY HAS been named at fullback for Munster’s Pro12 trip to the Ospreys on Saturday [Liberty Stadium, 5.15pm, Sky Sports].

Keatley, Billy Holland and John Ryan were all released from Ireland camp to the province and slot straight back in to Rassie Erasmus’s starting XV.

Erasmus makes five changes in total with Darren O’Shea named alongside Holland in the second row while Francis Saili starts at outside centre in place of the injured Jaco Taute.

Taute scored twice in the win over Newport Gwent Dragons last weekend before injuring his shoulder, and will be allowed to rest and recover for “the next week or so,” Munster said.

There was more serious news concerning lock Jean Kleyn who injured his neck against the Dragons and will miss eight to 10 weeks.


15. Dan Evans
14. Keelan Giles
13. Kieron Fonotia
12. Ashley Beck
11. Hanno Dirksen
10. Sam Davies
9. Tom Habberfield (captain)

1. Nicky Smith
2. Scott Baldwin
3. Rhodri Jones
4. Lloyd Ashley
5. Rory Thornton
6. Olly Cracknell
7. Sam Underhill
8. James King


16. Sam Parry
17. Paul James
18. Daniel Suter
19. Tyler Ardron
20. Dan Baker
21. Brendon Leonard
22. Luke Price
23. Ben John


15. Ian Keatley
14. Ronan O’Mahony
13. Francis Saili
12. Rory Scannell
11. Darren Sweetnam
10. Tyler Bleyendaal (captain)
9. Duncan Williams

1. Dave Kilcoyne
2. Rhys Marshall
3. John Ryan
4. Darren O’Shea
5. Billy Holland
6. Dave O’Callaghan
7. Tommy O’Donnell
8. Jack O’Donoghue


16. Kevin O’Byrne
17. Peter McCabe
18. Stephen Archer
19. Dave Foley
20. Conor Oliver
21. Abrie Griesel
22. Dan Goggin
23. Andrew Conway

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

New-born twins keeping Sean Cronin busy during frustrating injury layoff

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Niall Kelly

Read next: