Friday 27 January 2023 Dublin: 5°C
Ben Brady/INPHO Malakai Fekitoa.
# New Era
Fekitoa and 18-year-old Quinn included in Rowntree's first Munster matchday squad
Three academy players are in line for their first tastes of senior action for Munster against Gloucester, as is new arrival Chris Moore.

GRAHAM ROWNTREE HAS named his first Munster team as head coach, with Gloucester the visitors to Musgrave Park on Friday (kick-off 7:30pm).

New signings Malakai Fekitoa and Chris Moore are included among the replacements and will make their first appearances for the southern province.

Also included in the 31-man matchday squad is highly rated 18-year-old back row Ruadhán Quinn, the first-year academy player who won a Senior Cup with Crescent in March and completed his Leaving Cert earlier this summer.

ruadhan-quinn-and-jamie-duggan-celebrate Bryan Keane / INPHO Ruadhán Quinn (middle) celebrates CCC's Senior Cup win over Pres at Thomond Park. Bryan Keane / INPHO / INPHO

Quinn’s fellow academy players, Edwin Edogbo and Conor Phillips, are also in line for their first tastes of senior action with Munster, as is academy product Paddy Kelly who has been upgraded to the senior squad this season.

Simon Zebo starts at fullback with Calvin Nash and Shane Daly completing the back three. Ben Healy gets the nod at 10, with Jack Crowley among the replacements.

The side will be captained by Jack O’Donoghue from blindside.

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

malakai-fekitoa Ben Brady / INPHO Ben Brady / INPHO / INPHO

Friday’s fixture will be Gloucester’s since their player, Ed Slater, was diagnosed with Motor Neurone Disease (MND) in July.

Gloucester have set up a fundraising page for Slater and his family, and donations can be made at this link.


  • 15. Simon Zebo
  • 14. Calvin Nash
  • 13. Chris Farrell
  • 12. Rory Scannell
  • 11. Shane Daly
  • 10. Ben Healy
  • 9. Neil Cronin
  • 1. Josh Wycherley
  • 2. Diarmuid Barron
  • 3. Keynan Knox
  • 4. Cian Hurley
  • 5. Eoin O’Connor
  • 6. Jack O’Donoghue (Captain)
  • 7. Alex Kendellen
  • 8. Jack O’Sullivan


  • 16. Scott Buckley
  • 17. Chris Moore
  • 18. Roman Salanoa
  • 19. James French
  • 20. Liam O’Connor
  • 21. Edwin Edogbo
  • 22. Paddy Kelly
  • 23. Ruadhán Quinn
  • 24. Daniel Okeke
  • 25. Paddy Patterson
  • 26. Jack Crowley
  • 27. Tony Butler
  • 28. Malakai Fekitoa
  • 29. Dan Goggin
  • 30. Liam Coombes
  • 31. Conor Phillips
Related Tags


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel