Dublin: 14°C Friday 27 May 2022

Trio to make European debuts for Munster in Leicester encounter

Johann van Graan’s side welcome the Premiership outfit to Thomond Park tomorrow evening.

Johann van Graan Munster head coach Johann van Graan. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

THREE MEN WILL get their first taste of European Champions Cup rugby as Munster players when the southern province take on Leciester Tigers in tomorrow evening’s Pool 4 encounter at Thomond Park [KO 7.45pm, BT Sport 2].

For his first European game in charge of Munster, new head coach Johann van Graan has made six personnel changes to his side from last weekend’s Guinness Pro14 win over Ospreys.

Returning international quintet Andrew Conway, Conor Murray, Dave Kilcoyne, Peter O’Mahony and CJ Stander are all restored to the starting line-up at the expense of Darren Sweetnam, James Hart, Liam O’Connor, Jack O’Donoghue and Robin Copeland. Stephen Archer also comes in for John Ryan in the front row.

With Chris Farrell out injured, centre Sam Arnold will play in the Champions Cup for Munster for the first time. He last played a European game in January 2016 during his time with Ulster.

There are also European debuts for winger Alex Wootton, who’s rewarded for his impressive recent form, and flanker Chris Cloete, who has made a promising start to life in Limerick since debuting against Newport Gwent Dragons last month.


15. Simon Zebo
14. Andrew Conway
13. Sam Arnold
12. Rory Scannell
11. Alex Wootton
10. Ian Keatley
9. Conor Murray

1. Dave Kilcoyne
2. Rhys Marshall
3. Stephen Archer
4. Jean Kleyn
5. Billy Holland
6. Peter O’Mahony (captain)
7. Chris Cloete
8. CJ Stander


16. Kevin O’Byrne
17. Brian Scott
18. John Ryan
19. Darren O’Shea
20. Jack O’Donoghue
21. Duncan Williams
22. JJ Hanrahan
23. Darren Sweetnam

Leicester Tigers:

15. Telusa Veainu
14. Adam Thompstone
13. Matt Smith
12. Mathew Tait
11. Jonny May
10. George Ford
9. Ben Youngs

1. Kyle Traynor
2. Tom Youngs (captain)
3. Dan Cole
4. Mike Fitzgerald
5. Graham Kitchener
6. Valentino Mapapalangi
7. Luke Hamilton
8. Sione Kalamafoni


16. Harry Thacker
17. Logovi’i Mulipola
18. Chris Baumann
19. Dom Barrow
20. Mike Williams
21. Sam Harrison
22. Joe Ford
23. Nick Malouf

Who should win the RTE Sportsperson of the Year award?

11 years after being released by Ulster, Steenson driving Exeter’s pursuit of European success

About the author:

Paul Dollery

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel