Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 10°C Friday 7 May 2021

Connacht have won at the Liberty Stadium for the first time ever

Pat Lam’s side go second in the Pro12 table with five-point win in Wales.

Aki scored Connacht's second try early in the second half.
Aki scored Connacht's second try early in the second half.
Image: Ian Cook/INPHO

Ospreys 16

Connacht 21

TRIES FROM MATT Healy and Bundee Aki saw Connacht register their first ever win at the Liberty Stadium.

Pat Lam’s side moved leapfrogged Munster and moved up to second place in the Pro12 table, level on points with leaders Scarlets.

Sam Davies and Jack Carty traded early penalties before Connacht lost Tiernan O’Halloran, captaining the province for the first time, to a suspected concussion just 13 minutes in.

Ospreys number eight Dan Baker crossed for the game’s opening try a minute later to give the hosts a 8-3 lead.

Ospreys lost centre Josh Matavesi to a yellow card and Connacht took full advantage, Carty kicking the resulting penalty before Kieran Marmion sent over Healy for a try on 27 minutes.

Connacht still held their 11-8 lead at the break and added a second try from a set piece three minutes after the restart when Craig Ronaldson offloaded to man of the match Aki to score.

Ronaldson added the extras to open up a 10-point lead, 18-8, but Ospreys kept in touch with another Davies penalty.

The Welsh side threatened a late comeback when the returning Justin Tipuric crossed in the corner, giving Davies the chance to equalise with the conversion, but the angle was too tight.

Ronaldson added a penalty three minutes from time to give Connacht some breathing room and some staunch defence repelled a late Ospreys surged and clinched a first away win over the Swansea side since 2004.

Ospreys: 15 Richard Fussell, 14 Tom Grabham, 13 Ben John, 12 Josh Matavesi, 11 Eli Walker, 10 Sam Davies, 9 Brendon Leonard; 1 Ryan Bevington, 2 Sam Parry, 3 Dmitri Arhip; 4 Lloyd Ashley (c), 5 Rory Thornton, 6 James King, 7 Sam Underhill, 8 Dan Baker.

Replacements: 16 Scott Otten, 17 Paul James, 18 Aaron Jarvis, 19 Rynier Bernardo, 20 Joe Bearman, 21 Justin Tipuric, 22 Tom Habberfield, 23 Dan Evans.

Connacht: 15 Tiernan O’Halloran (c), 14 Darragh Leader, 13 Bundee Aki, 12 Craig Ronaldson, 11 Matt Healy, 10 Jack Carty, 9 Kieran Marmion; 1 Denis Buckley, 2 Shane Delahunt, 3 Rodney Ah You, 4 Quinn Roux, 5 Aly Muldowney, 6 Eoin McKeon, 7 Nepia Fox-Matamua, 8 Eoghan Masterson.

Replacements: 16 Dave Heffernan, 17 Conan O’Donnell, 18 Finlay Bealham, 19 Ultan Dillane, 20 John Muldoon, 21 Ian Porter, 22 Rory Parata, 23 Niyi Adeolokun.

We’ve crunched the numbers on Mario Ledesma’s scrum revolution in Argentina

The two elder statesman guiding a young Pumas side through the World Cup

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next: