Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 8°C Sunday 16 May 2021

Teams from Dubai, Liverpool and 14 Irish counties to play in Páidí Ó Sé tournament

The 29th annual football festival takes place in West Kerry from 17-19 February.

TEAMS FROM 14 Irish counties along with sides from Liverpool and Dubai will partake in the annual Páidí Ó Sé football tournament next month.

The West Kerry football festival takes place on the weekend of 17-19 February at various GAA venues across the Dingle peninsula.

Paidi O'Se Legendary Kerry GAA figure Páidí Ó Sé. Source: INPHO

The tournament was officially launched in Dublin last night with teams from Kerry, Laois, Kildare, Down, Dublin, Wexford, Meath, Cork, Sligo, Cavan, Louth, Wicklow, Mayo and Galway

The competition was first established in 1989 by Kerry Gaelic football great Ó Sé, who passed away in 2012.

For the first time a team from the Middle East will compete with Dubai Celts in action in the junior men’s cup.

Comórtas Peile Páidí Ó Sé 2017 Pádraig Óg Ó Sé and Kerry All-Star Paul Geaney at the launch of the 2017 Lidl Comórtas Páidí Ó Sé.

Here’s the full breakdown of the teams involved.

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

Dermot Earley Senior Men’s Cup

  • An Ghaeltacht – Kerry
  • Dingle – Kerry
  • Stradbally – Laois
  • Sarsfields – Kildare
  • Downpatrick – Down
  • Fingallians – Dublin
  • Glynn-Barntown – Wexford

The Boars Head Intermediate Men’s Cup

  • Keel – Kerry
  • Annascaul – Kerry
  • Lispole – Kerry
  • Dunderry – Meath
  • Knocknagree – Cork
  • St John’s – Sligo

Junior Men’s Cup

  • Valentia Island – Kerry
  • Shannon Gaels – Cavan
  • Ballinacurra – Cork
  • Dubai Celts – Dubai

Senior Ladies Cup

  • Southern Gaels – Kerry
  • Ballyboden St. Enda’s – Dublin
  • Boardsmill – Meath
  • Stabannon Parnells – Louth
  • Bray Ladies – Wicklow

Intermediate Ladies Cup

  • Corca Dhuibhne – Kerry
  • Burrishoole – Mayo
  • Gowna Ladies – Cavan
  • Naomh Abán – Cork
  • Maigh Cuilinn – Galway


  • Dingle – Kerry
  • Clounmacon – Kerry
  • John Mitchels – Liverpool
  • Lucan Sarsfields – Dublin

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

GAA gate receipts up 12%, annual revenue tops €100m – but crowds are down

9 players with big points to prove in the Allianz Football League

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: