Watching On

19 footballers getting set for their first championship summer in retirement

Some of the greats of the game won’t be involved in this summer’s championship.

19 footballers getting set for their first championship summer in retirement
1 / 19
  • Paul Galvin (Kerry)

    The 2009 Footballer of the Year won four All-Ireland senior medals with the Kingdom.Source: James Crombie/INPHO
  • Pascal McConnell (Tyrone)

    The goalkeeper was between the posts for Tyrone’s 2005 and 2008 triumphs while he was a substitute for their breakthrough win in 2003.Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO
  • Redmond Barry (Wexford)

    Barry was better known as a Gaelic footballer in recent years but he also played hurling for Wexford.Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO
  • Graham Canty (Cork)

    Cork's 2010 All-Ireland winning captain bowed out last October. He won Allstar awards in 2007, 2009 and 2010.Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO
  • Tomás Ó Sé (Kerry)

    One of the game's true greats, the five-time All-Ireland senior winner retired last October. He also won five Allstar awards.Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO
  • Pearse O'Neill (Cork)

    The Aghada club man won an All-Ireland medal in 2010 and an Allstar before that in 2009.Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO
  • Karol Mannion (Roscommon)

    Midfield on the Connacht final winning team of 2010, Mannion won an All-Ireland SFC club title with St Brigid's last year.Source: James Crombie/INPHO
  • Johnny Doyle (Kildare)

    Doyle hung up his boots after a 14-year career that saw him win a Leinster title in 2000 and an Allstar in 2010.Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO
  • Alan O'Connor (Cork)

    The St Colum's club man won an All-Ireland medal with Cork in 2010.Source: James Crombie/INPHO
  • Eoin Brosnan (Kerry)

    Brosnan claimed three All-Ireland senior medals with Kerry. He retired before launching the second phase of his career in 2011.Source: James Crombie/INPHO
  • Paudie Kissane (Cork)

    Kissane was wing-back on Cork's All-Ireland winning team in 2010 while he also won an Allstar that year. Source: James Crombie/INPHO
  • David Murphy (Wexford)

    The experienced Murphy was an established figure at the heart of the Model County defence in recent years.Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO
  • Noel O'Leary (Cork)

    Cork's 2010 All-Ireland winning wing-back brought the curtain down on his career last October.Source: James Crombie/INPHO
  • Ronan Sweeney (Kildare)

    The Lilywhites player won a Leinster senior title in 2000 before retiring last July.Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO
  • Alan Quirke (Cork)

    One of Cork's longest-serving players, Quirke's career stretched back to 1999. His high point was winning the All-Ireland in 2010.Source: James Crombie/INPHO
  • Ger Quinlan (Clare)

    The O'Curry's club man lined out for Clare for 15 seasons and played 100 games between league and championship.Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO
  • Padraig Clancy (Laois)

    Clancy was a long-serving member for Laois and won a Leinster senior football medal back in 2003.
  • Gary Hurney (Waterford)

    One of the Waterford's most prominent players in recent times.Source: Lorraine O'Sullivan/INPHO
  • Marty McGrath (Fermanagh)

    2004 Allstar McGrath was a familiar figure for Fermanagh until his retirement last October.Source: Dan Sheridan/INPHO

9 young players to watch out for in this summer’s football championship

9 injured players we’ll miss seeing in action in this summer’s championship

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.