Clare senior ruled out for U21 footballers and in doubt for Ballyea's All-Ireland final

A hand injury will prevent Pearse Lillis from being involved against Kerry tomorrow night.

AS IF THE challenge of facing Kerry’s U21s tomorrow night wasn’t a tough enough assignment already, Clare will have to do so without Pearse Lillis as the Cooraclare man has been ruled out of the clash with a hand injury.

Lillis picked up the injury while playing a hurling game for Ballyea over the weekend and the forward now has just 10 days to prove his fitness for the Clare champions’ St Patrick’s Day showdown with Cuala at Croke Park.

Ballyea's Pearse Lillis celebrates scoring a goal

Lillis' fellow senior panellists David Egan, Cian O'Dea and Keelan Sexton have all been included in the U21 starting team for the game in Tralee.

Kerry boss Jack O'Connor may be without his Dr Crokes trio due to their St Patrick's Day commitments and senior defender Brian Ó Beaglaoich through injury but he was still able to name 14 minor All-Ireland winners in his starting 15.

Tomorrow night's EirGrid Munster U21 quarter-final between Clare and Kerry throws in at 7.30pm at Austin Stack Park.

Pearse Lillis with Brian O'Beaglaoich

Clare U21 football team (v Kerry)

1. Killian Roche (Cooraclare)

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

2. Éinne O'Connor (Éire Óg)
3. Darren Nagle (Liscannor, capt)
4. Colm Pyne (Killimer)

5. Conal Ó hAiniféin (Éire Óg)
6. Rory McMahon (Kildysart)
7. Killian Brennan (Clondegad)

8. Darragh Bohannon (Shannon Gaels)
9. Cian O'Dea (Kilnefora)

10. David Egan (Kilmihil)
11. Alan Sweeney (St Breckan's)
12. Aidan Davidson (St Breckan's)

13. Conor Finucane (Lissycasey)
14. Keelan Sexton (Kilmurry Ibrickane)
15. Eimhim Courtney (Éire Óg)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

From winning 2 All-Stars with the Tipperary senior footballers to the new U21 manager

9 players to watch in the Munster U21 football championship

About the author:

Alan Waldron

Read next: