This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 5 °C Monday 21 January, 2019

Galway and Dublin stars land 2017 Leinster GAA player awards

Conor Cooney and James McCarthy were honoured with Pearse Meals in Croke Park today.

pjimage (1) Source: Inpho

ALL-IRELAND CHAMPIONS Conor Cooney and James McCarthy picked up more silverware today as they were named Leinster players of the year in hurling and football respectively.

Both Cooney and McCarthy were awarded with Pearse Medals for their exploits during this year’s provincial championships. Dublin collected a seventh straight title while Galway won their second Leinster crown.

The specially commissioned medals were introduced last year to coincide with the anniversary of the Easter Rising and acknowledge the fact that Pearse had been a member of the Leinster Council through its schools section in the years before his death.

Hurler_of_Year_6236 Leinster hurler of the year Conor Cooney Source: John Quirke

Footballer_of_Year_6254 David McCarthy representing his brother James, collects the Leinster footballer of the year award Source: John Quirke

The inaugural winners last year were Diarmuid Connolly of Dublin and Kilkenny’s Jonjo Farrell.

The medals were presented at a lunch in Croke Park today attended by Conor, and with David McCarthy, brother of James, accepting the medals from Leinster GAA Chairman Jim Bolger.

The42 has just published its first book, Behind The Lines, a collection of some of the year’s best sports stories. Pick up your copy in Eason’s, or order it here today (€10):

‘That’s when it kind of started hitting me and you start getting a bit upset’ – Dub star’s cruciate recovery

Dates, times and venues announced for the 2018 All-Ireland club championship ties

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Kevin O'Brien

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel