Limerick's Tommy Stack appeals to referee Cormac Reilly as he signals a penalty, but then changes his mind. ©INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan
Change of heart

Poll: was Cormac Reilly right to reverse penalty call?

WATCH: Referee under scrutiny following controversial U-turn during Limerick’s qualifier win over Waterford.

MEATH MAN CORMAC REILLY caused a bit of a stir at the Gaelic Grounds on Saturday night after awarding a penalty – and then promptly changing his mind.

The incident occurred midway through the first half of Limerick’s 0-14 to 0-9 win over Waterford in their All-Ireland SFC Third Round Qualifier.

Déise wing-forward Paul Whyte was through on goal when he took a tumble with Limerick’s Tommy Stack in close attendance. Believing that Whyte had been pushed, Reilly pointed to the spot before consulting with his umpires and reversing the decision, throwing the ball in instead.

Speaking to the Irish Independent, the chairman of the National Referees Committee (NRC), Mick Curley, expressed his surprise at the u-turn, saying that he couldn’t remember too many other similar incidents.

This is not the first time that Reilly has found himself at the centre of debate in recent weeks. The same referee came under scrutiny for his decision to award Dublin a late free during the Leinster SFC semi-final against Kildare, allowing Bernard Brogan to give the Dubs a one-point victory.

But what do you think – did the man in the middle get this one right, or should he have stuck to his guns?

Was Cormac Reilly right to change his mind?

Poll Results:

Yes - it was never a foul in the first place. (64)
No - the initial decision to award a penalty was correct. (40)
No - once he made his decision, he should have stuck to it regardless. (28)

READ - O’Dwyer admits he accepted Dublin post >

READ - ‘No rift’ says Donegal chief as third party pays panel’s hotel tab >