©INPHO/Presseye/William Cherry Tommy Bowe celebrates his Lions call-up at Belfast Zoo.
# lion tamers
Pro12 Cheat Sheet: Your guide to this weekend’s rugby action
Ulster and Leinster can ensure home semi-finals while Connacht bid farewell to a few legends.

WE ARE FOUR hours away from kick-off in some crucial Pro12 matches. The final round of fixtures will tell us the semi-final make up, with Leinster and Ulster looking for home draws.

Zebre v Munster

When: Tonight, 6:45

Where can I watch? Parma, Italy or if you have SportItalia on satellite

The story so far: It will be hard for Rob Penney to get his troops motivated for this end-of-season jaunt to Italy. Munster are marooned in sixth with neither a win, loss or draw affecting their final standings. Zebre have this game to prevent a 0-22 losing record in their first season in the league.

Team news: Only four Munster players that started the Heineken Cup semi-final defeat to Clermont are in tonight’s starting XV. JJ Hanrahan gets the nod at outhalf in a possible glimpse into next season and a ROG-less Munster. Paul O’Connell continues his remarkable comeback, partnering Billy Holland in the second row. Sinoti Sinoti and Daniel Halangahu scored tries against Leinster recently and represent the home team’s best points hopes.

Zebre: Ruggero Trevisan; Giovanbattista Venditti, Alberto Benettin, Gonzalo Garcia, Sinoti Sinoti; Daniel Halangahu, Tito Tebaldi; Matias Aguero, Davide Giazzon, David Ryan; Josh Sole, Marco Bortolami (c); Filippo Ferrarini, Mauro Bergamasco, Andries van Schalkwyk.Replacements: Andrea Manici, Luciano Leibson, Andrea de Marchi, Emiliano Caffini, Filippo Cristiano, Alberto Chillon, Matteo Pratichetti, Samuele Pace.
Munster: Denis Hurley; Ronan O’Mahony, Casey Laulala, Ian Keatley, Johne Murphy; JJ Hanrahan, Cathal Sheridan; Dave Kilcoyne, Mike Sherry, John Ryan; Billy Holland, Paul O’Connell (c); Dave O’Callaghan, Sean Dougall, Paddy Butler. Replacements: Damien Varley, James Cronin, BJ Botha, Ian Nagle, Niall Ronan, Duncan Williams, Cathal Bohane, Felix Jones.

Leinster v Ospreys

When: Tonight, 7:45

Where can I watch? TG4 from 7:30pm

The story so far: Ospreys are, with the major exception of Clermont, Leinster’s bogey team. Joe Schmidt will be hoping to secure a home semi-final at the RDS and to do one over the side that beat the Blues in last year’s Pro12 Final.

Team news: Brian O’Driscoll, having manically proved himself fit, is rested on a strong bench that includes Richardt Strauss, Devin Toner and Cian Healy. Isa Nacewa annd Andrew Conway are on the wings and three 2013 Lions start: Rob Kearney, Jonny Sexton and Sean O’Brien. Ospreys counter with three Lions of their own: Adam Jones, Justin Tipuric and Alun Wyn Jones.

Leinster: Rob Kearney; Andrew Conway, Fergus McFadden, Ian Madigan, Isa Nacewa; Jonathan Sexton, Isaac Boss; Jack McGrath, Sean Cronin, Jamie Hagan; Leo Cullen (c), Quinn Roux; Rhys Ruddock, Shane Jennings, Sean O’Brien. Replacements: Richardt Strauss, Cian Healy, Michael Bent, Devin Toner, Dominic Ryan, John Cooney, Andrew Goodman, Brian O’Driscoll.
Ospreys: Richard Fussell; Tom Habberfield, Ashley Beck, Ben John, Ross Jones; Dan Biggar, Rhys Webb; Duncan Jones, Scott Baldwin, Adam Jones; Alun Wyn Jones (c), James King; Justin Tipuric, Sam Lewis, Joe Bearman. Replacements: Dmitri Arhip, Ryan Bevington, Cai Griffiths, Ian Evans, Morgan Allen, Matthew Morgan, Tom Isaacs, Jonathan Spratt.

Isa Nacewa owes Ospreys a defeat. (©INPHO/Morgan Treacy)

Ulster v Cardiff Blues

When: Tonight, 7:45

Where can I watch? BBC2 from 7:30pm

The story so far: Cardiff Blues have endured a pitifully bad season in the Pro12 and Europe. Still, they will hope to finish on a high and deny Ulster a home semi-final. Mark Anscombe’s men have taken the league very, very seriously all season and it would be fitting if they could top the standings at the end of this evening.

Team news: A strong Ulster team with a lethal backline, which includes Jared Payne, Andrew Trimble, Tommy Bowe and Ruan Pienaar. Rory Best, having been omitted from the Lions squad on Tuesday, is sure to receive a warm welcome. Cardiff’s Lions Leigh Halfpenny and Sam Warburton do not feature but Alex Cuthbert, coming back to fitness after a hamstring tweak, does.

Ulster: Jared Payne; Andrew Trimble, Darren Cave, Stuart Olding, Tommy Bowe; Ruan Pienaar, Paul Marshall; Callum Black, Rory Best, John Afoa; Johann Muller, Iain Henderson; Robbie Diack, Chris Henry, Nick Williams. Replacements: Nigel Brady, Tom Court, Declan Fitzpatrick, Dan Tuohy, Sean Doyle, Paddy Jackson, Mike Allen, Peter Nelson.
Cardiff Blues: Dan Fish; Alex Cuthbert, Gavin Evans (c), Dafydd Hewitt, Harry Robinson; Rhys Patchell, Lewis Jones; Taufa’ao Filise, Kristian Dacey, Scott Andrews; Bradley Davies, Lou Reed; Luke Hamilton, Josh Navidi, Michael Paterson. Replacements: Marc Breeze, Thomas Davies, Campese Ma’afu, Teofilo Paulo, Macauley Cook, Liam Davies, Ceri Sweeney, Tom James.

Connacht v Glasgow Warriors

When: Tonight, 7:45

Where can I watch? RTE from 7:30pm

The story so far: Glasgow would ordinarily be favourites for such a fixture but the league’s third-placed team are up against a Connacht team that will be brimming with farewell emotions. Coach Eric Elwood oversees the westerners for the final time and there will be send-offs for departing and retiring players such as Adrian Flavin and Johnny O’Connor.

Team news: Gavin Duffy captains a Connacht side that will feature O’Connor and, in all likelihood, Fetu’u Vainikolo for the last time. Dan Parks continues his partnership with young scrumhalf Kieran Marmion and Mike McCarthy will also wave goodbye to the Connacht faithful at the end of tonight’s proceedings. Stuart Hogg, selected for the Lions squad, is on the bench so Warriors’ main scoring threat should come from DTH van der Merwe.

Connacht: Gavin Duffy (c); Danie Poolman, Eoin Griffin, Brian Murphy, Fetu’u Vainikolo; Dan Parks, Kieran Marmion; Brett Wilkinson, Ethienne Reynecke, Ronan Loughney; Michael Swift, Mike McCarthy; Andrew Browne, Johnny O’Connor, Eoin McKeon.
Glasgow Warriors: Peter Murchie; Tommy Seymour, Sean Lamont, Peter Horne, DTH Van der Merwe; Ruaridh Jackson, Henry Pyrgos; Moray Low, Pat MacArthur, Jon Welsh; Tim Swinson, Tom Ryder; Rob Harley, John Barclay, Ryan Wilson (c). Replacements: Doug Hall, Ryan Grant, Ed Kalman, James Eddie, Josh Strauss, Niko Matawalu, Sean Maitland, Stuart Hogg. will be liveblogging all the action from the RDS from 7:15pm tonight.

‘It’s going to take a long time to get completely over it’ – Rory Best on Lions

Olympic Stadium to host Ireland v Italy at 2015 Rugby World Cup

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.