Enda Smith celebrates after beating Sligo. Morgan Treacy/INPHO
Connacht SFC

Shine held in reserve as Roscommon make 4 changes for Connacht final clash with Galway

There’s a change in goal too with Darren O’Malley handed the number one shirt.

ROSCOMMON BOSSES KEVIN McStay and Fergal O’Donnell have made four changes for Sunday’s Connacht Senior Football Championship final against Galway in Salthill.

Darren O’Malley starts in goal, replacing Geoffrey Claffey who started the win over Sligo in Hyde Park last month.

Strokestown’s Cathal Compton comes into midfield in place of James McDermott while Donie Shine and Senan Kilbride are held in reserve with Enda Smith and David Keenan startting in the half and full forward line respectively.

Roscommon (team to face Galway, Connacht SFC final — Sunday 2pm)

1 Darren O’Malley (Michael Glaveys)

2 Sean McDermott (Western Gaels)
3 Sean Mullooly (Strokestown)
4 Niall McInerney (St Brigids)

5 David Murray (Padraig Pearses)
6 Sean Purcell (Boyle)
7 John McManus (Roscommon Gaels)

8 Niall Daly (Padraig Pearses)
9 Cathal Compton (Strokestown)

10 Fintan Cregg (Elphin)
11 Ciaran Murtagh Captain (St Faithleachs)
12 David Keenan (St Barrys)

13 Conor Devaney (Kilbride)
14 Enda Smith (Boyle)
15 Cathal Cregg (Western Gaels)


16 Geoffrey Claffey (Castlerea St Kevins)
17 Cian Connolly (Roscommon Gaels)
18 Donie Shine (Clann na nGael)
19 Donie Smith (Boyle)
20 Fergal Lennon ( Clann na nGael)
21 James McDermott (Roscommon Gaels)
22 Niall Carty (Padraig Pearses)
23 Niall Kilroy (Fuerty)
24 Senan Kilbride (St Brigids)
25 Thomas Corcoran (Strokestown)
26 Ultan Harney (Clann na nGael)

This is the Galway team hoping to win the county’s first Connacht senior football title in 8 years

From working in a Santa Barbara ice cream parlour to playing in a Connacht football final

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.