This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 11 °C Monday 6 July, 2020

Roscommon name no U21 players to face Mayo in Sunday's Connacht semi-final

Roscommon make one change from the team which defeated Leitrim.

David Keenan misses out through injury.
David Keenan misses out through injury.
Image: Cathal Noonan

ST BRIGID’S WING back Ian Kilbride comes in to the Roscommon team in place of the injured David Keenan as their only change ahead of Sunday’s clash with Mayo.

Keenan played at centre back in Roscommon’s eight point win over Leitrim in the quarter final and while Niall Daly is once again named at number six, he could well push out to the wing again.

Niall Carty captains the team from the full back line, which is an unchanged trio from last year’s semi-final clash between the teams.

They are three of the 11 who featured in last year’s 12 point loss who start again a year on, while once more there is no place for any of Nigel Dineen’s U21 panel in the starting fifteen. Diarmuid Murtagh, who scored two points when introduced against Leitrim, will not start the game.

There are five starters from the U21 panel who reached the All-Ireland final in 2012, and five from the minor winning team of 2006.

The return to fitness of Paddy Brogan gives John Evans extra options, although it’s emerged Donal Ward is likely to miss out on the rest of the championship through injury.

Roscommon (SFC v Mayo)

1. Darren O’Malley (Michael Glaveys)
2. Seán McDermott (Western Gaels)
3. Niall Carty (Padraig Pearses)
4. Neil Collins (Castlerea St. Kevins)
5. Ian Kilbride (St. Brigids)
6. Niall Daly (Padraig Pearses)
7. Ciarán Cafferkey (Western Gaels)
8. Cathal Shine (Clann na nGael)
9. Kevin Higgins (Western Gaels)
10. David O’Gara (Roscommon Gaels)
11. Donie Shine (Clann na nGael)
12. Ronan Stack (St. Brigids)
13. Senan Kilbride (St. Brigids)
14. Cathal Cregg (Western Gaels)
15. Ciaráin Murtagh (St. Faithleachs)​

Living on the border – Ballaghaderreen’s David Drake on the friendly derby?

‘I’d prefer playing them in Newbridge’ – Eamonn Callaghan on Dublin’s Croke Park advantage

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

Read next: