Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 9°C Tuesday 20 April 2021

Late Kearney point saves Cork kingpins Sarsfields in semi-final against Erins Own

The teams will have to replay their semi-final clash.

Daniel Kearney saved Sarsfields in today's Cork semi-final replay.
Daniel Kearney saved Sarsfields in today's Cork semi-final replay.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Sarsfields 0-16
Erins Own 1-13

Denis Hurley reports from Páirc Uí Rinn

GLEN ROVERS MUST wait to discover their opponents in the Cork SHC final after champions Sarsfields and their neighbours Erin’s Own drew at Páirc Uí Rinn today.

Sars, going for a fifth title in eight years and seeking successive championships for the first time, secured a draw against the last side to go back-to-back (in 2006 and ’07) when Daniel Kearney’s late point tied matters.

In what was a tight game throughout, the teams were level at 0-8 each at half-time but Erin’s Own looked to have taken a huge step towards the final when Eoghan Murphy – who scored 1-10 – nailed a penalty in the 43rd minute.

That made it 1-12 to 0-12 but Sars weren’t going to allow their East Cork rivals to pull away and points by Cian McCarthy kept them in it. When they were awarded a late penalty with two points between the sides, McCarthy went for goal but Shay Bowen deflected the ball over the bar.

Kearney popped up with the leveller though and McCarthy might even have won it for Sars with a long-range free in injury time but he mishit his effort and a second meeting will be required.

Scorers for Sarsfields: Cian McCarthy 0-6 (frees), Robert O’Driscoll 0-3, Daniel Kearney 0-2, Eoin O’Sullivan, Eoin Quigley, Daniel Roche, Paul Leopold, Tadhg Óg Murphy 0-1 each.

Scorers for Erin’s Own: Eoghan Murphy 1-10 (1-0 penalty, 0-7 frees, 0-1 65), Mark Collins, Stephen Cronin, Robbie O’Flynn (0-1 each).


1. Alan Kennedy

2. Thomas Crowley
3. Craig Leahy
4. William Kearney

5. Conor O’Sullivan
6. Ray Ryan
7. Éanna Martin

8. Daniel Kearney
9. Paul Leopold

10. Eoin O’Sullivan
11. Eoin Quigley
12. Daniel Roche

13. Robert O’Driscoll
14. Cian McCarthy
15. Tadhg Óg Murphy

22. Gavin O’Loughlin for Roche (41)
20. Kieran Murphy for Leopold (47)
26. Liam Healy for Tadhg Óg Murphy (51)
19. Cormac Duggan for O’Driscoll (53)

Erins Own

1. Shay Bowen

2. Cian O’Connor
3. Cormac Dooley
4. Killian Murphy

5. Stephen Cronin
6. Shane Murphy
7. Cathal O’Mahony

8. Maurice O’Carroll
9. Seán Kelly

10. Kieran Murphy
11. Colm Coakley
12. Mark Collins

13. Cian O’Callaghan
14. Eoghan Murphy
15. Alan Bowen

18. Robbie O’Flynn for Coakley (half-time)
20. Stephen Horgan for O’Callaghan (49)
25. Andrew Power for O’Carroll (53).

Referee: David Copps (Ballyhea).

There’ll be new Limerick and Munster senior club hurling champions this year

Horgan shoots Glen Rovers into Cork senior hurling final with win over Midleton

About the author:

Denis Hurley

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel