Sean O'Brien has been cited for striking Pascal Papé yesterday

The Tullow Tank faces a disciplinary hearing tomorrow in London.

Murray Kinsella reports from Cardiff

WORLD RUGBY HAS confirmed that Ireland flanker Sean O’Brien has been cited for striking during his side’s 24-9 win over France in the Millennium Stadium.

IrelandÕs Sean O'Brien O'Brien is facing a ban for striking. Source: Billy Stickland/INPHO

The Tullow man will face a disciplinary hearing tomorrow in London at 1pm, after independent Citing Commissioner Dougie Hunter cited him under Law 10.4 (a): “A player must not strike an opponent with the fist or arm, including the elbow, shoulder, head or knee(s).”

The citing relates to an incident involving Pascal Papé in the first minute of Ireland’s victory in Cardiff, when O’Brien struck the France lock in the stomach.

Ireland are likely to defend O’Brien by pointing to his good disciplinary record, while head coach Joe Schmidt yesterday indicated his belief that the Leinster back row was held off the ball and struck with an open hand, rather than a closed fist.

Suspensions for striking another player with the hand, arm or fist carry a low-end entry point of two weeks. The mid-range entry point is five weeks and the top-end begins at 12 weeks.

Ireland face Argentina in the World Cup quarter-finals on Sunday.

What are they
really like?

Rare insights on sport's biggest names from the writers who know them best. Listen to Behind the Lines podcast.

Become a Member

World Rugby’s statement this evening also confirms that Argentina centre Marcelo Bosch has been cited for under Law 10.4(e), which deals with dangerous tackles.

The Pumas’ midfielder will also face a hearing tomorrow over an incident in his side’s heavy win over Namibia yesterday.

France coach Saint-André is not happy about SOB’s ‘attack’ on Papé

‘It’s not a closed fist’ – Schmidt hopeful SOB will avoid World Cup ban

About the author:

Murray Kinsella

Read next: