Dublin: 6°C Thursday 2 December 2021

8 key players in the Sigerson Cup tomorrow for DIT, UUJ, GMIT and NUI Maynooth

Dublin IT entertain UUJ tomorrow in Coolock while GMIT play NUI Maynooth in Carnmore.

Michael Darragh Macauley in action for Dublin.
Michael Darragh Macauley in action for Dublin.
Image: ©INPHO/James Crombie

THE FIRST TWO spots in the Sigerson Cup semi-finals are on offer tomorrow afternoon.

Reigning champions DIT defend their crown at Coolock in Dublin against UUJ at 3pm while GMIT go up against NUI Maynooth in Carnmore in Galway at 3pm.

Here’s eight players from the four competing sides who will be key to deciding the games.

Bryan Menton (DIT/Meath)

The defensive lynchpin as DIT claimed a historic first Sigerson Cup title last year, Menton is a key component in defence again this season. DIT have been stripped of key figures in their team like Monaghan’s Colin Walshe and the importance of Menton thus grows.

Peter Acheson (DIT/Tipperary)

Last February, Acheson was in exceptional form for a UCC team that ultimately lost out to DIT in the Sigerson Cup final. Now this year he is part of the DIT ranks and is a vital presence in the team at midfield as they strive to overcome the loss of Mayo’s Aidan O’Shea.

Aidan O'Shea with Peter Acheson 23/2/2013 Peter Acheson (right) in action for UCC against DCU. Source: ©INPHO/Donall Farmer

Jamie Clarke (UUJ/Armagh)

Club commitments with Crossmaglen Rangers have curtailed Clarke’s involvement in the Sigerson in recent years but he is available this season and offers a serious attacking threat for the Jordanstown ranks.

Matthew Donnelly (UUJ/Tyrone)

Donnelly is an experienced Sigerson campaigner at this stage and a title win is something he greatly covets. He is superb form at the moment, excelling last Sunday for his county against Mayo.

Johnny Duane (GMIT/Galway)

A senior defender in the Galway side, Duane exerts a vital influence in GMIT’s defensive play and also posted two points in their shock win last week over Queen’s University.

Shane Walsh (GMIT/Galway)

A gifted attacker, the Kilkerrin-Clonberne club man won an All-Ireland U21 football medal with Galway last year. Has progressed to the Alan Mulholland’s senior team and is a definite danger man in the GMIT forward line.

Shane Walsh Galway's Shane Walsh. Source: ©INPHO/Cathal Noonan

Michael Darragh Macauley (NUI Maynooth/Dublin)

Macauley clearly has immense value at this grade after winning the ‘Footballer of the Year’ award in 2013. He is a newcomer to the competition but his class and dynamism means he can dominate the middle third for NUI Maynooth.

Patrick McBrearty (NUI Maynooth/Donegal)

The precocious attacker shot 0-5 last week in NUI Maynooth’s comprehensive victory against IT Blanchardstown. A young player but the 2012 All-Ireland senior winner brings a wealth of experience to the table from his Donegal career to date.

Shane O’Donnell scores goal as UCC reach Fitzgibbon quarter-final while WIT also qualify

Limerick IT, Dublin IT and UCD book places in Fitzgibbon Cup quarter-finals

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: