Dublin: 15°C Tuesday 24 May 2022

53rd Leinster colleges hurling title for St Kieran's after today's win over St Peter's

Victory was clinched in today’s decider at Netwatch Cullen Park.

Glory once more for St Kieran's today.
Glory once more for St Kieran's today.

St Kieran’s (Kilkenny) 1-14
St Peter’s (Wexford) 1-6

ST KIERAN’S BAGGED their 53rd Leinster senior colleges hurling crown today with an eight-point win over St Peter’s in the final played at Netwatch Cullen Park.

The success saw St Kieran’s return to the winners podium in their own province after Kilkenny CBS had triumphed for the last two years. Victory propels St Kieran’s into the All-Ireland stages in a confident fashion as they seek to retain the title that they won last year.

St Kieran’s edged the first-half exchanges to lead narrowly by 0-5 to 0-4 at the interval but St Peter’s pounced for a breakthrough as they hit the net early in the second-half through John Lee Meyler.

But St Kieran’s bounced back with three quick points in a row to go ahead 0-8 to 1-4 before a 34th minute goal arrived courtesy of midfielder Richie Leahy.

From there St Kieran’s remained in command, they were in front by 1-11 to 1-5 entering the final quarter and eventually had eight points to spare.

The winners had a wide array of scores with Joe Connolly contributing 0-3 while Ray Lahart, Liam Blanchfield, Billy Ryan and Sean Morrissey notching 0-2 apiece.

St Kieran’s

1. Adrian Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks)

2. Michael Cody (Dunamaggin)
3. Tommy Walsh (Tullaroan)
4. Jonathan Barron (Thomastown)

5. Jack Keoghan (Tullaroan)
6. Jason Cleere (Bennettsbridge)
7. Eoin Walsh (Lisdowney)

8. Jason Byrne (Clara)
9. Richie Leahy (Rower-Inistioge)

10. Liam Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge)
11. Sean Morrissey (Bennettsbridge)
12. Joe Connolly (Clara)

13. Ray Lahart (James Stephens)
14. Billy Ryan (Graigue-Ballycallan)
15. Tadgh O’Dwyer (James Stephens)

St Peter’s

1. Oisin Foley (Crossabeg/Ballymurn)

2. David Clarke (Glynn-Barntown)
3. Darren Byrne (Blackwater)
4. Jody Donohoe (Shelmaliers)

5. Ciaran Murphy (Buffers Alley)
6. Aaron Maddock (St Martin’s)
7. Glen Malone (Shelmaliers)

8. Conor Hearne (Shelmaliers)
9. Jake Firman (St Martin’s)

10. Jack Pettitt (Our Lady’s Island/St Fintan’s)
11. Joe O’Connor (St Martin’s)
12. Rowan White (Glynn-Barntown)

13. John Lee Meyler (Buffers Alley)
14. Matthew Joyce (Glynn-Barntown)
15. Billy Dunne (Oulart-The-Ballagh)

48 week ban for Wexford hurler is overturned and he’s free to play in 2015

Hurling now has one-on-one penalties and an advantage rule after today’s Congress

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next: