Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 13°C Thursday 29 October 2020

Tipperary and Roscommon players land 2017 GAA goal of the year honours

Niall O’Meara and Cian Connolly’s strikes won the TG4 vote.

TIPPERARY HURLER NIALL O’Meara and Roscommon footballer Cian Connolly have won the 2017 TG4 Cúil na Bliana awards.

pjimage Tipperary's Niall O'Meara and Roscommon's Cian Connolly. Source: INPHO

O’Meara won the hurling award for his strike in a league tie with Kilkenny last March in Semple Stadium.

Source: TG4/YouTube

Connolly secured the football award for his strike in Roscommon’s Connacht final victory over Galway last July in Pearse Stadium.

Source: TG4/YouTube

The Irish language broadcaster revealed the results of the public vote this evening that saw O’Meara and Connolly’s strike voted the top score from their respective shortlists.

Image uploaded from iOS (1) Source: TG4

Image uploaded from iOS Source: TG4

You can check out all the football and the hurling goals that were shortlisted here:

The42 has just published its first book, Behind The Lines, a collection of some of the year’s best sports stories. Pick up your copy in Eason’s, or order it here today (€10):

So long, lads: 15 inter-county hurling stars who called it a day in 2017

Highs and lows! The most memorable moments of the Ladies football and camogie year

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel