This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 3 °C Sunday 16 February, 2020

Tiger Woods says former coach 'got what he deserved'

Hank Haney was suspended from the SiriusXM PGA Tour Radio channel for disparaging comments on the US Women’s Open field.

Tiger Woods (file pic).
Tiger Woods (file pic).
Image: Ian Johnson

GOLF SUPERSTAR TIGER Woods said former swing coach Hank Haney “got what he deserved” when he was suspended from the SiriusXM PGA Tour Radio channel for disparaging comments on the US Women’s Open field.

Woods, asked about the controversy after the second round of the US PGA Tour’s Memorial Tournament in Ohio on Friday, had no sympathy for Haney, whose remarks were branded “racist and sexist” by US golf star Michelle Wie.

“He deserved it,” Woods said. “Just can’t look at life like that. And he obviously said what he meant, and he got what he deserved.”

Haney sparked an uproar when asked on his SiriusXM radio show this week to predict a likely winner of the US Women’s Open, which is underway in Charleston, South Carolina.

“I’m gonna predict a Korean,” he said, adding: “I couldn’t name you like six players on the LPGA tour.

“Nah, maybe I could — well, I’d go with Lee, if I didn’t have to name a first name, I’d get a bunch of them right.”

Wie immediately called out Haney on Twitter, and plenty of other big names in the women’s game followed, including Hall of Famers Annika Sorenstam and Karrie Webb.

On Thursday, the PGA Tour and SiriusXM issued a statement saying Haney had been suspended from the tour radio channel “at the PGA Tour’s instruction” while SiriusXM was further “reviewing his status”.

Haney said in the statement that he accepts his suspension and apologised again.

Haney coached Woods through six of his 15 major championships, from 2004 to 2010.

© – AFP, 2019 

Subscribe to our new podcast, The42 Rugby Weekly, here:

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:


Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel