Dublin: 13°C Tuesday 28 June 2022

All-Ireland minor captain and returning full-back named in Tipp side

Liam McGrath and Paddy Codd are notable inclusions for the game against Antrim.

Liam McGrath and Paddy Codd to start for Tipperary on Sunday.
Liam McGrath and Paddy Codd to start for Tipperary on Sunday.

A FIRST LEAGUE start for 2011 All-Ireland minor football winning captain Liam McGrath and a place for returning full-back Paddy Codd, are notable features in the Tipperary team for their Allianz league opener on Sunday.

Liam Kearns side who enjoyed a wonderful 2016 championship campaign will start out the new season with a Division 3 home tie against Antrim in Semple Stadium.

McGrath will start at centre-forward after coming on as a substitute in previous seasons while Codd is handed the number 3 jersey after opting to take a year out in 2016.

There’s also a debut handed out in defence to Willie Connors at corner-back while wing-forward Brian Fox has been confirmed as the new team captain for 2017.

Tipperary have included nine players that started in last August’s All-Ireland semi-final loss to Mayo in Evan Comerford, Alan Campbell, Robbie Kiely, Jimmy Feehan, Josh Keane, Fox, Conor Sweeney, Michael Quinlivan and Philip Austin.

Codd, Connors and McGrath are drafted in along with wing-back Kevin Fahey and the midfield duo of Alan Moloney and Martin Dunne.


1. Evan Comerford (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)

2. Alan Campbell (Moyle Rovers)
3. Paddy Codd (Killenaule)
4. Willie Connors (Kiladangan)

5. Kevin Fahey (Clonmel Commercials)
6. Robbie Kiely (Carbery Rangers)
7. Jimmy Feehan (Killenaule)

8. Alan Moloney (Rockwell Rovers)
9. Martin Dunne (Moyle Rovers)

10. Josh Keane (Golden-Kilfeacle)
11. Liam McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
12. Brian Fox (Captain) (Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill)

13. Conor Sweeney (Ballyporeen
14. Michael Quinlivan (Clonmel Commercials)
15. Philip Austin (Borrisokane)

Exclusive NZ - IRE
Rugby Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella's match analysis and Garry Doyle's updates from New Zealand exclusive to members

Become a Member


16. Ciarán Kenrick (Moyle Rovers)
17. Kevin O’Halloran (Portroe)
18. Ian Fahey (Clonmel Commercials)
19. Joseph Hennessy (Loughmore-Castleiney)
20. Emmet Moloney (Drom-Inch)
21. Liam Boland (Moyle Rovers)
22. Liam Casey (Cahir)
23. Jack Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials)
24. Colm Stapleton (Upperchurch-Drombane)
25. Paul Shanahan (Upperchurch-Drombane)
26. Luke Boland (Moyle Rovers)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

xt3 debutants in Cavan team to face the back-to-back All-Ireland champions

Galway’s Killeen hits two goals in dramatic win for Davy Fitz’s LIT over DCU

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: