Saturday 28 January 2023 Dublin: 6°C
James Crombie/INPHO Tipperary’s Brendan Maher and Padraic Maher with Colin Fennelly of Kilkenny.
Match report: Kilkenny come out on the right side of history at second time of asking
It’s just the 10 Celtic Crosses for Henry Shefflin now.

Kilkenny 2-17

Tipperary 2-14

KILKENNY ARE ALL-IRELAND senior hurling champions for the 35th time.

The Cats proved too strong for archrivals Tipperary in an intriguing Saturday evening replay at Croke Park, running out three-point winners.

Second-half goals from Richie and John Power ultimately proved the difference after Seamus Callanan raised the green flag for the Premier in the first period.

Centre back Kieran Joyce picked up RTE’s man-of-the-match award in a game that was defined by the defending. The likes of JJ Delaney and Joyce hooked and blocked the Tipp forwards who were largely frustrated throughout.

Eamon O’Shea’s side did have the opportunity to goal in the second half when they were awarded a soft-looking penalty by referee Brian Gavin. Patrick Maher was adjudged to have been dragged down as he powered goalwards.

Callanan however opted to tap the sliothar over the bar; a decision he’ll now second guess, no doubt.

Brian Cody and Henry Shefflin will celebrate their 10th All-Ireland titles respectively tonight — with the latter hinting it may be his last — and they may well raise a glass to the Powers.

First Richie caught a sideline ball, turned and buried to the net in the 59th minute before brother John proved alert in front of goal as he tapped home a deflected effort.


power 2

Eamon O’Shea admitted his side were beaten by the better team but vowed they’ll return once more.  Earlier, his counterpart Brian Cody called Richie Hogan ashore with less than an hour elapsed as he sent on Shefflin for what may be his last run out at HQ.

“We can do what we want, because we’re in charge of the team,” Cody told RTE’s Clare McNamarra afterwards in the face of perceived criticism of his recent team selections. Whether he returns to take charge of the celebrations on Noreside, remains to be seen.

In the meantime, the Liam MacCarthy will winter once again in the Marble City.

Scorers for Kilkenny: TJ Reid 0-6 (0-6f), John Power 1-1, Richie Power 1-0, Colin Fennelly 0-3, Richie Hogan, Eoin Larkin, Michael Fennelly 0-2 each, Padraig Walsh 0-1.

Scorers for Tipperary: Seamus Callanan 2-5 (0-5f), Shane McGrath, John O’Dwyer (0-1 ’65) 0-3 each, Noel McGrath 0-2, Brendan Maher 0-1.


1 Eoin Murphy Glenmore

2 Paul Murphy Danesfort
3 J J Delaney Fenians
4 Jackie Tyrrell James Stephens

5 Padraig Walsh Tullaroan
6 Kieran Joyce Rower Inistioge
7 Killian Buckley Dicksboro

8 Richie Hogan Danesfort
9 Conor Fogarty Erins Own

Exclusive Six
Nations Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella’s exclusive analysis of Ireland’s Six Nations campaign this spring

Become a Member

10 Michael Fennelly Ballyhale Shamrocks
11 Colin Fennelly Ballyhale Shamrocks
12 Eoin Larkin James Stephens

13 Richie Power Carrickshock
14 T J Reid Ballyhale Shamrocks
15 John Power Carrickshock

Subs for Kilkenny:
22. Henry Shefflin (Ballyhale Shamrocks) for Hogan (57)
20. Lester Ryan (Clara) for Michael Fennelly (67)


1. Darren Gleeson (Portroe)

2. Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill)
3. Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
4. Paddy Stapleton (Borris-Ileigh)

5. Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh – Captain)
6. James Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane)
7. Kieran Bergin (Killenaule)

8. Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch)
9. James Woodlock (Drom & Inch)

10. Gearóid Ryan (Templederry Kenyons)
11. Patrick Maher (Lorrha-Dorrha)
12. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule)

13. Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
14. Seamus Callanan (Drom & Inch)
15. Lar Corbett (Thurles Sarsfields).

Subs for Tipperary:
18. Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields) for Shane McGrath (55)
25. Conor O’Mahony (Newport) for Ryan (64)
17. Shane Bourke (JK Brackens) for Corbett (64)
20. Jason Forde (Silvermines) for Noel McGrath (66)
24. John O’Brien (Toomevara) for O’Dwyer (69)