Dublin: 10°C Wednesday 23 June 2021

Here are the draws for the 2016 Tipperary county senior championships

Reigning champions Thurles Sarsfields and Clonmel Commercials were amongst those who discovered their fate.

THE DRAWS WERE made tonight for the 2016 Tipperary county senior football and hurling championships.

Thurles Sarsfields' players celebrate winning Thurles Sarsfields saw off Nenagh Éire Óg in last year's Tipperary county senior final Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Reigning hurling champions Thurles Sarsfields are drawn in the same group as Éire Óg Annacarty, Borris-Ileigh and Roscrea.

The current football champions Clonmel Commercials – who are preparing for an All-Ireland semi-final against Ballyboden St-Enda’s on 13 February – will take on Killenaule, JK Brackens and Ballyporeen in their group.

Clonmel celebrate winning Clonmel Commercials celebrate winning the Munster club final last November Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Tipperary SHC

(Roinn 1)

Group 1 - Killenaule, Drom-Inch, Upperchurch-Drombane, JK Brackens.
Group 2 – Thurles Sarsfields, Éire Óg Annacarty, Borris-Ileigh, Roscrea.
Group 3 – Nenagh Éire Óg, Kildangan, Templederry Kenyons, Mullinahone.
Group 4 – Kilruane McDonaghs, Clonoulty-Rossmore, Lorrha-Dorrha, Portroe.

(Roinn 2)

Group 1 - Burgess, Toomevara, Holycross-Ballycahill, Moyne-Templetuohy.
Group 2 – Moycarkey-Borris, Carrick Swans, Moneygall.
Group 3 – Loughmore-Castleiney, Borrisokane, Knockavilla Kickhams.
Group 4 – Ballina, Silvermines, Ballingarry, Clonakenny.

Tipperary SFC

Group 1 – Arravale Rovers, Cahir, Kilsheelan-Kilcash, Upperchurch-Drombane.
Group 2 – Clonmel Commercials, Killenaule, JK Brackens, Ballyporeen.
Group 3 – Éire Óg Annacarty, Loughmore-Castleiney, Galtee Rovers, Thomas McDonaghs.
Group 4 – Moyle Rovers, Aherlow Gaels, Drom-Inch, Ardfinnan.

There were also divisional draws made this evening.

Mid Tipperary SHC

Preliminary round
Drom & Inch v Moyne-Templetuohy
Thurles Sarsfields v winner of Drom & Inch or Moyne-Templetuohy
Clonakenny v Holycross-Ballycahill
JK Brackens v Moycarkey-Borris
Loughmore-Castleiney v Upperchurch-Drombane

Mid Tipperary SFC
JK Brackens v Upperchurch-Drombane
Loughmore-Castleiney v Drom-Inch

South Tipperary SHC
First round
Carrick Swan v Mullinahone
Killenaule v Ballingarry

South Tipperary SFC Draw
Kilsheelan-Kilcash Bye
Ballyporeen v Clonmel Commercials
Moyle Rovers v Ardfinnan
Cahir v Killenaule

West Tipperary SFC 
Arravale Rovers v Galtee Rovers
Aherlow Gaels v Eire Og Annacarty

The draws for the 2016 West & North Senior Hurling Championships will be made at a later date.

Tipperary hurlers bag 7 goals in challenge game win ahead of league opener

Dublin and Wexford bound for Walsh Cup final next Saturday night

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel