Presseye/Andrew Paton; ©INPHO/Presseye/Andrew Paton/INPHO
Business As Usual

All too easy for Tyrone as they rack up a sixth consecutive McKenna Cup title

Mickey Harte’s men had plenty to spare over Derry at Pairc Esler.

Tyrone 2-13

Derry 1-07

IT WAS YET another McKenna Cup triumph for Mickey Harte’s Tyrone on Saturday evening as they cantered to a nine-point victory over Derry at Pairc Esler in Newry.

It will provide them with some decent momentum as the league gets underway next week but this was a one-sided affair from the off.

Harte’s men had an eight-point advantage at the break largely thanks to Colm Kavanagh’s 17th-minute goal and a couple of scores from Mark Bradley.

Derry did respond well after the restart and Mark Lynch converted some frees to cut the deficit.

But there was always too much ground to make up and a solid Tyrone outfit were intent on getting the job done.

Peter Hagan with Ronan O’Neill and Mark Bradley Presseye / Andrew Paton; ©INPHO/Presseye/Andrew Paton/INPHO Presseye / Andrew Paton; ©INPHO/Presseye/Andrew Paton/INPHO / Andrew Paton; ©INPHO/Presseye/Andrew Paton/INPHO

When Ronan O’Neill was brought down in the area, Peter Harte stepped up and made no mistake.

Niall Loughlin did score a late consolation goal to put a bit of respectability on the scoreline but it was never in doubt as Tyrone eased to yet another McKenna Cup triumph.

Tyrone: N Morgan, A McCrory, J McMahon, C McCarron, P Hampsey, M Donnelly (0-02), P Harte (1-02 (1-0 pen, 0-2f), C Cavanagh (1-00), P McNulty, D McClure (0-01), N Sludden (0-01), C Meyler (0-01), M Bradley (0-02), C McCullagh (0-01), R O’Neill (0-02).

Subs: D McCurry for Bradey (h-t), S Cavanagh for C Cavanagh (h-t), C McCann (0-01) for McCullagh (44), R McHugh for Harte (59), C McShane for Sludden (59)

Derry: T Mallon, N Keenan, C Nevin, R Murphy, N Forester, O Duffin, M McEvoy, C McAtamney, M Lynch (0-04 (4f), E Lynn, J Kielt (0-01, f), P Hagan, R Bell (0-01), E McGuckin (0-01), N Loughlin (1-00).

Subs: M Warnock for Hagan (h-t), P Coney for McEvoy (44), M Craig for Duffin (51), G O’Neill for McAtamney (51), B Grant for Kielt (58), C McGrogan for Murphy (61)

Referee: S Laverty (Antrim).

Templemore’s eyes firmly set on first Dr Harty Cup since 1978 as they progress to the final

Galway hurlers put up 4-37 against IT Carlow in Walsh Cup semis

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.