Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: 10°C Sunday 9 May 2021

Cox stars as UCC claim 15 point win over CIT in Sigerson opener while NUIG also triumph

Champions UCC were far too strong for their local rivals today while NUI Galway defeated IT Blanchardstown.

UCC 3-15
Cork IT 1-6

UCC SENT OUT a warning that they won’t be easily dethroned as Sigerson Cup champions as they disposed of neighbours Cork IT in their opening-round clash at the Mardyke today.

While the hosts and holders trailed by 1-3 to 0-3 after 19 minutes, thereafter they were dominant, with Thomas Hickey’s goal putting them 1-5 to 1-3 in front and CIT would not score again until the 47thminute.

Corner-forward Conor Cox was outstanding for UCC, scoring 0-9, but CIT – managed by former Cork star Paudie Kissane – will wonder how such an advantageous position was overturned so emphatically.

Source: HE GAA/YouTube

UCC led by 0-3 to 0-1 after 10 minutes, Cox with all of the points, but then the visitors found a rhythm which suggested that an entertaining game was in store. John Corkery put them in front with a goal as he ended a lovely move involving Killian O’Connor, Darragh Treacy and Seán O’Flynn and then Brendan O’Sullivan and Donal Óg Hodnett added points.

Donal Og Hodnett CIT's Donal Óg Hodnett was in action today. Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Things got worse for UCC when Brian O’Driscoll was black-carded but Paul Geaney ended 12 scoreless minutes and that opened the floodgates. Luke Connolly pointed immediately after and then came Hickey’s goal, the corner-forward palming in from close range after Seán Kiely’s handpass across goal.

Luke Connolly Luke Connolly was in action for UCC today. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

By half-time, they were in a handsome position, leading by 2-8 to 1-3, the second goal coming when Shaun Keane flicked a Cox free home. While CIT would no doubt have intended to start the second half well, they were never given a chance to as UCC wing-back Conor Dorman added the third following a flowing attack which he started and finished.

Even with 28 minutes left at that stage, the outcome was decided. UCC could afford to go 14 second-half minutes without a score but it mattered little and they marched on.

Scorers for UCC: Conor Cox 0-9 (0-4f), Shaun Keane, Thomas Hickey 1-1 each, Conor Dorman 1-0, Tomás Clancy 0-2, Luke Connolly, Paul Geaney 0-1 each.
Scorers for Cork IT: John Corkery 1-1, Brendan O’Sullivan, Donal Óg Hodnett (0-1f) 0-2 each, Michael Vaughan 0-1.


1. Micheál Martin (Nemo Rangers, Cork)

18. Fergal McNamara (Austin Stacks, Kerry)
4. David Culhane (Ballylongford, Kerry)
3. Jack McGuire (Listowel Emmets, Kerry)

5. Conor Dorman (Bishopstown, Cork)
19. Brian O’Driscoll (Tadhg Mac Cárthaigh, Cork)
7. Tomás Clancy (Fermoy, Cork)

8. Ian Maguire (St Finbarr’s, Cork)
9. Gary O’Sullivan (Listry, Kerry)

10. Shaun Keane (Legion, Kerry)
11. Luke Connolly (Nemo Rangers, Cork)
12. Seán Kiely (Ballincollig, Cork)

15. Conor Cox (Listowel Emmets, Kerry)
14. Paul Geaney (Dingle, Kerry)
13. Thomas Hickey (Castleisland Desmonds, Kerry)


6. Seán White (Clonakilty, Cork) for O’Driscoll (20, black card)
27. David Harrington (Adrigole, Cork) for Geaney (38)
26. Éanna Ó Conchúir (An Ghaeltacht, Kerry) for Kiely (41)
17. Pádraig O’Connor (Legion, Kerry) for Culhane (47)

Billy Morgan UCC manager Billy Morgan Source: James Crombie/INPHO


1. David Hanrahan (Douglas, Cork)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

3. Stephen Cahill (Mountcollins, Limerick0
17. TJ Brosnan (Newmarket, Cork)
2. Paul O’Sullivan (Valentia, Kerry)

20. Conor Jordan (Austin Stacks, Kerry)
6. Brendan O’Sullivan (Valentia, Kerry)
7. Donough Leahy (Arravale Rovers, Tipperary)

8. Killian O’Connor (Mallow, Cork)
9. Darragh Treacy (St Kieran’s, Limerick)

10. Seán O’Flynn (Fr Sheehys, Tipperary)
11. Jerry O’Connor (Boherbue, Cork)
5. Pádraig Crowley (O’Donovan Rossa, Cork)

13. Barry O’Mahony (Clonakilty, Cork)
14. Donal Óg Hodnett (O’Donovan Rossa, Cork)
22. John Corkery (Aghabullogue, Cork)


15. Michael Vaughan (Millstreet, Cork) for O’Connor (half-time)
4. Matthew Taylor (Mallow, Cork) for Crowley (38)
26. Ronan Milner (Carbery Rangers, Cork) for Leahy (38)
23. Anthony O’Connor (Knocknagree, Cork) for O’Mahony (47)
24. Daniel Daly (St Mary’s, Kerry) for Treacy (51)
19. Conor Flanagan (Clyda Rovers, Cork) for Brosnan (57, injured)

Referee: Derek O’Mahony (Tipperary)

Peadar O'Griofa and Brian Kennedy Peadar Ó Gríofa (file picture) starred for NUI Galway today. Source: Mike Shaughnessy

NUI Galway 0-17
IT Blanchardstown 1-4

NUI GALWAY PROVED too strong at home to IT Blanchardstown in today’s Sigerson Cup preliminary round tie in Dangan.

The Tommy Joyce managed side ran out ten-point winners against a Blanchardstown team that were reduced to 14 men early in the first-half.

Peadar Ó Gríofa was the star for NUI Galway as he chalked up 0-6 before going off injured in the second-half. Roscommon’s Cian Connolly hit 0-4 while Tipperary’s Robbie Kiely and Galway’s David Cunnane were others to impress.

NUIG were ahead by 0-8 to 0-3 at the interval and pulled further clear in the second-half with John Comerford striking a late consolation goal for IT Blanchardstown.

The winners now advance to a home first round match against St Mary’s next week.

Cian Connolly dejected Roscommon's Cian Connolly played for NUI Galway today. Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Scorers for NUI Galway: Peadar O Gríofa 0-6 (0-5f), Cian Connolly 0-4, Robbie Kiely, David Cunnane 0-2 each, Cathal Brennan, Niall Hickey, David Cunnane,  Richie Feeney (0-1f) 0-1 each.

Scorers for IT Blanchardstown: John Comerford 1-0, Eoin McPhilbin 0-2 (0-1 ’45), David Slattery, Graham Geraghty (0-1f) 0-1 each

10 players to watch out for in this year’s Sigerson Cup

Kieran McGeeney – ‘The more you tell people the truth, the less they want to print it’

About the author:

Denis Hurley

Read next: