This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 3 °C Sunday 19 January, 2020

1-14 for Kilkenny forward Murphy as UL claim All-Ireland Freshers hurling title against UCC

Extra-time was needed before a winner emerged in Mallow tonight.

Kilkenny's Alan Murphy starred for UL today.
Kilkenny's Alan Murphy starred for UL today.
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

UL 1-24
UCC 1-18

(After extra-time)

KILKENNY ALL-IRELAND minor winner Alan Murphy starred as UL claimed the All-Ireland Freshers hurling title against UCC in Mallow this evening.

Extra-time was needed to secure the result with Murphy, who was part of the Kilkenny minor team that triumphed last September, leading the way as he struck 1-14 over the course of the 80 minutes. Murphy, a younger brother of Kilkenny senior goalkeeper Eoin, was outstanding as he propelled the UL team, managed by Gary Kirby, to glory.

Clare’s Ian Galvin, a brother of county senior Colm, shot 0-4 from play as he made an important scoring contribution while Waterford’s Mark Shanahan and Tipperary’s Josh Keane grabbed 0-2 apiece.

UCC have dominated this grade in recent years but couldn’t get over the finish line on this occasion. Waterford 2013 All-Ireland minor Patrick Curran bagged 1-7 for UCC while Clare’s Dara Walsh and Kilkenny’s Kevin Kenny struck 0-3 apiece.

UL were ahead 1-9 to 0-5 at half-time in normal time but UCC mounted a second-half comeback and the teams were level at 1-15 apiece to send the game towards extra-time.

UL made a decisive burst as they went ahead 1-21 to 1-17 at half-time in extra-time and then they ran out six-point winners.

Scorers for UL: Alan Murphy 1-14 (0-8f, 0-2 ’65), Ian Galvin 0-4, Mark Shanahan, Josh Keane 0-2 each, Cian Moloney, P Ryan 0-1 each.

Scorers for UCC: Patrick Curran 1-7 (1-4f, 0-1 pen), Dara Walsh, Kevin Kenny 0-3 each, Cathal Cormack, Conor Galvin, Conor Gleeson, Mark Dolan, Donal Hannon 0-1 each.


1. Gavin Ryan (Upperchurch-Drombane, Tipperary)

2. Sean Finn (Bruff, Limerick)
3. David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona, Clare)
4. Michael Casey (Na Piarsaigh, Limerick)

25. William Brennan (Fenians, Kilkenny)
6. Barry Heffernan (Nenagh Éire Óg, Tipperary)
7. Stephen Dalton (De La Salle, Waterford)

8. Leigh Bergin (Shanahoe, Laois)
9. Josh Keane (Golden-Kilfeacle, Tipperary)

10. Colin Crehan (Sixmilebridge, Clare)
11. Tom Morrissey (Ahane, Limerick)
12. Ian Galvin (Clonlara, Clare)

13. Alan Murphy (Glenmore, Kilkenny)
14. Mark Shanahan (Erins Own, Waterford)
15. Cian Moloney (Kilmaley, Clare)

21. Donncha Quinn for (Nenagh Éire Óg, Tipperary) for Crehan (40)
20. Conor Floyd (Newport, Tipperary) for Dalton (50)
18. Paul Ryan (Nenagh Éire Óg, Tipperary) for Moloney (50)


1. Jack Barry (Castlelyons, Cork)

2. Sean O’Donoghue (Inniscarra, Cork)
3. Jamie Byrne (James Stephens, Kilkenny)
4. Greg Murphy (Newcestown, Cork)

5. Sean Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon, Limerick)
6. Niall Cashman (Blackrock, Cork)
7. Eoin Gough (Dicksboro, Kilkenny)

8. Dara Walsh (Éire Óg Ennis, Clare)
9. Cathal Cormack (Blackrock, Cork)

10. Patrick Curran (Dungarvan, Waterford)
11. Mark Dolan (Douglas, Cork)
12. Conor Galvin (Clarecastle, Clare)

13. Kevin Kenny (Dicksboro, Kilkenny)
14. Donal Hannon (Newmarket, Cork)
15. Mark O’Connor (Douglas, Cork)

27. Cian Walsh (St Finbarr’s, Cork) for Byrne (21)
17. Conor Gleeson (Fourmilewater, Waterford) for Galvin (half-time)
22. Cian O’Connor (Bride Rovers, Cork) for M Dolan (54)
20. Joe Logue (Blackrock, Cork) for M O’Connor (54)
25. Joseph O’Sullivan (Ballygiblin, Cork) for C Cormack (74)

Referee: Alan Kelly (Galway)

This article was originally published on 5 March at 9.49pm

The jerseys for the GAA World Games are absolutely gorgeous

Jonjo Farrell’s controversial red card has been rescinded

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

The42 Team

Read next: