Ryan Boyle lifts the trophy for Warrenpoint. INPHO/Presseye/Jonathan Porter
GAA Wrap

IFC provincial glory for Sean O’Mahonys and Warrentpoint today

The Leinster and Ulster intermediate deciders took place this afternoon.

LOUTH SIDE SEAN O’Mahonys are the Leinster intermediate football champions after victory over Meath’s Ballinlough this afternoon.

O’Mahonys started the game the stronger racing into 0-4 to no score lead. However, Peader Byrne’s goal from a penalty and points from Byrne, Colm Mallen and Ken Rothwell swung the game in Ballinlough’s favour.

The Dundalk club were level by half time and, despite having Conor Crawley red-carded, limited Ballinlough to just one second half score before running out 0-10 to 1-4 winners.

In the Ulster decider, a strong second half performance was enough for Down’s Warrenpoint to get to better of 2006 All-Ireland IFC winners Inniskeen.

Ross McGarry scored 0-9 with Gary Boyle adding 1-1 after coming on as a substitute to help crown their side the Ulster club IFC champions on a scoreline of 1-14 to 1-7.

Elsewhere, there was a win for Aherlow but Eire Og Annacarty and Cahir will have to do it all again in the Tipperary SFC quarter-finals.

Unstoppable McLaughlin leads Termon to All-Ireland senior club glory

Slaughtneil’s late, late show see them crowned Ulster club football champions

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.