Friday 27 January 2023 Dublin: 3°C
Presseye/Brian Little/INPHO Charles Piutau starts at full-back for Ulster against Scarlets.
# starting XV
Piutau back for Ulster with Jackson and Henderson set to play for the first time this season
Ulster take on Scarlets tomorrow night at Kingspan Stadium.

ULSTER DIRECTOR OF Rugby Les Kiss has made eight changes in personnel to his starting line-up for tomorrow night’s visit of Scarlets to Kingspan Stadium in the Guinness Pro12 [7.05pm].

Ulster, the only one of the four Irish sides to make a 100% start to the campaign with two wins from two, welcome Charles Piutau back at full-back after the New Zealand international missed last weekend’s win against Treviso due to a thumb injury.

Craig Gilroy returns to the wing after he suffered a concussion in the win against the Dragons on the opening weekend, while the other two changes in the backline see Stuart McCloskey start at centre and Irish international out-half Paddy Jackson make his first appearance of the season.

Louis Ludik moves from full-back to the wing, Stuart Olding swaps 12 for 13, with Rob Lyttle and Luke Marshall moving to the bench, and Jacob Stockdale and Brett Herron dropping out.

Up front, Callum Black replaces Kyle McCall at loosehead prop. There’s a fresh second-row partnership as Pete Browne and Alan O’Connor come in for Kieran Treadwell and Franco van der Merwe. Robbie Diack starts at 8 in place of Roger Wilson in the only back-row change.

Irish international Iain Henderson is in line for his first appearance of the season after being named among the replacements. Once again, Ulster will be captained by hooker Rob Herring, who’ll be making his 100th appearance for the province.


15. Charles Piutau
14. Craig Gilroy
13. Stuart Olding
12. Stuart McCloskey
11. Louis Ludik
10. Paddy Jackson
9. Ruan Pienaar

1. Callum Black
2. Rob Herring (captain)
3. Rodney Ah You
4. Pete Browne
5. Alan O’Connor
6. Clive Ross
7. Sean Reidy
8. Robbie Diack


16. John Andrew
17. Andrew Warwick
18. Ross Kane
19. Franco van der Merwe
20. Iain Henderson
21. Angus Lloyd
22. Luke Marshall
23. Rob Lyttle

Ex-Leinster man Douglas dropped as Cheika shuffles Wallabies locks

‘It’s an honour to be talked about in terms of an Ireland squad’