This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 9 °C Thursday 17 October, 2019

Payne, Trimble and Gilroy start as Ulster bid for fourth win in a row

Les Kiss has rung the changes for tomorrow night’s Guinness Pro12 meeting with Benetton Treviso.

Jared Payne
Jared Payne
Image: Dan Sheridan/INPHO

THE ULSTER TEAM to play Benetton Treviso tomorrow night at Kingspan Stadium [KO 7.35pm, BBC Sport NI] shows eight changes in personnel from last weekend’s victory over Zebre.

On the back of three consecutive wins, Ulster are now five points adrift of the play-off spots in the Guinness Pro12 with a game in hand. However, director of rugby Les Kiss has opted to freshen up his side for the visit of the Italians.

The three changes in the backline see the return of Irish internationals Craig Gilroy, Andrew Trimble and Jared Payne. Gilroy replaces Jacob Stockdale at full-back, Trimble comes in on the wing for Tommy Bowe, while centre Payne — who came off the bench against Zebre on Sunday — will start for the first time since he was injured while playing for Ireland against Australia in November. Luke Marshall subsequently drops to the bench.

Marcell Coetzee has recovered from illness to start in the number eight jersey. Roger Wilson also comes into the back row, with Sean Reidy moving from the back of the scrum to openside flanker. Clive Ross and Chris Henry make way.

Kieran Treadwell and Franco van der Merwe start at second row in place of Robbie Diack and Alan O’Connor. Callum Black replaces Andrew Warwick in the only front-row change.


15. Craig Gilroy
14. Andrew Trimble
13. Jared Payne
12. Stuart Olding
11. Charles Piutau
10. Peter Nelson
9. Ruan Pienaar

1. Callum Black
2. Rob Herring (captain)
3. Wiehahn Herbst
4. Kieran Treadwell
5. Franco van der Merwe
6. Roger Wilson
7. Sean Reidy
8. Marcell Coetzee


16. John Andrew
17. Andrew Warwick
18. Ricky Lutton
19. Pete Browne
20. Clive Ross
21. Paul Marshall
22. Luke Marshall
23. Jacob Stockdale

Benetton Treviso:

15. Luca Sperandio
14. Angelo Esposito
13. Tommaso Iannone
12. Michael Tagicakibau
11. Andrea Buondonno
10. Ian McKinley
9. Tito Tebaldi

1. Federico Zani
2. Luca Bigi
3. Tiziano Pasquali
4. Teofilo Paulo
5. Dean Budd (captain)
6. Marco Lazzaroni
7. Francesco Minto
8. Robert Barbieri


16. Roberto Santamaria
17. Romulo Acosta
18. Matteo Zanusso
19. Filippo Gerosa
20. Guglielmo Zanini
21. Giorgio Bronzini
22. Alberto Sgarbi
23. Andrea Pratichetti

Payne and Carbery back in Ireland’s Six Nations squad for final two rounds

Leinster set to sign Wallabies international Scott Fardy as a second row

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Paul Dollery

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel