This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 10 °C Tuesday 22 October, 2019

Cork, Kerry and Limerick unveil minor football team selections

The Electric Ireland provincial minor football championships crank into action this weekend.

Cork minor boss Ephie Fitzgerald.
Cork minor boss Ephie Fitzgerald.
Image: INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan

Updated 12.16pm

CORK BOSS EPHIE Fitzgerald has included six dual players in the Rebels minor football squad that feature against Kerry tomorrow night.

The counties clash in the opening round of the Electric Ireland Munster MFC in Páirc Uí Rinn at 7pm.

Full-back Kieran Histon, wing-backs Kevin O’Neill and Rickard Cahalane, centre-forward Killian O’Connor, full-forward Michael Cahalane and substitute Trevor Horgan were all part of the county minor hurling side that defeated Clare last week.

Peter Kelleher is also a dual player but is ruled out through injury for tomorrow’s clash with the Kingdom.

Captain and centre-back Stephen Cronin, whose older brother Alan features for the county U21 side that play in Saturday’s All-Ireland semi-final against Cavan, and O’Connor are the only two survivors from the Cork minor side that lost to Tipperary at the Munster semi-final stage last year.

Aidan Moynihan also featured in that game and he is included in the substitutes for tomorrow night’s game. The Canovee player was part of the Rockwell College team that featured against Crescent College in this year’s Munster Schools Senior Cup final.

CORK: Anthony Casey (Kiskeam); Michael McSweeney (Newcestown), Kieran Histon (Cobh), Niall Hayes (Kilmacabea); Kevin O’Neill (Glenville), Stephen Cronin (Nemo Rangers), Rickard Cahalane (Sliabh Rua); Peter O’Neill (Ballincollig), Ryan Harkin (Mallow); Don O’Driscoll (Clann na nGael), Killian O’Connor (Mallow), Kevin Cremin (Boherbue); Conor O’Driscoll (Mizen Rovers), Michael Cahalane (Bandon), Jack Bushe (Ilen Rovers).

The substitutes have also been named for tomorrow night’s game.

Subs: Colm O’Driscoll (Castlehaven), Dylan Quinn (St Finbarr’s), Sean White (Clonakilty), Conor Kingston (Douglas), Patrick O Briain (Bandon), Richard O’Sullivan (Kilmacabea), Trevor Horgan (Newcestown), Aidan Moynihan (Canovee), Mark Prendergast (Ballincollig).

Kerry boss Mickey Ned O’Sullivan.
Pic: INPHO/Cathal Noonan

Six members of the Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne side that won the Munster Colleges SAFC title last month have been named in the Kerry minor side for the game. Manager Mickey Ned O’Sullivan has named a team that draws heavily on that victorious colleges side with six players drawn from the Dingle and An Ghaeltacht clubs.

Cathal Ó Luing, Pádraig Ó Conchúir, Matthew Flaherty, Eanna Ó Conchúir, Barry O’Sullivan and Tomás Ó Sé are the players in question that are selected on the county side. In all there are seven survivors from the side that  lost the All-Ireland minor semi-final to Dublin last September.

Ó Lúing, Pádraig Ó Conchúir, Eanna Ó Conchúir, Greg Horan, David Foran, Jack Savage and Keane were all part of that Kingdom outfit.

KERRY: Shane Ryan (Rathmore); Sean T Dilllon (St Senan’s), Cathal Ó Luing (An Ghaeltacht), Pádraig Ó Conchúir (Dingle); Matthew Flaherty (Dingle), Greg Horan (Austin Stacks), Brian Sugrue (Renard); Eanna Ó Conchúir (An Ghaeltacht), Barry O’Sullivan (Dingle); David Foran (St Senan’s), Jack Savage (Kerins O’Rahilly’s), Tomás Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht); Conor Keane (Legion), Shane O’Connor (John Mitchel’s), Killian Spillane (Templenoe).

The Kerry substitutes have also been named for Saturday’s game.

Subs: Darragh O’Shea (Ballydonoghue), Conor Jordan (Austin Stacks), Kevin Shanahan (Ardfert), Fionán Clifford (Waterville), Kieran Murphy (Glenflesk), Paudie Carroll (Ardfert), Michéál Burns (Dr Crokes), Joe O’Kelly (Austin Stacks), Tony Brosnan (Dr crokes).

The Limerick side for their Munster MFC clash against Waterford in Dungarvan on Saturday afternoon at 2.30pm has also been named.

LIMERICK: Tom Dwyer (Ballylanders); Sam Mullins (Claughaun), John Murphy (Fr Caseys), David Cussen (Galbally); Sean O’Dea (Killteely-Dromkeen), Stephan Cahill (Mountcollins), Killian Ryan (Mungret); Killian Fahy (Dromcollegher-Broadford), Gavin Reidy (Newcastle West); Brian O’Connell (Ballylanders), Cian Sheehan (Newcastle West), James Naughton (St Senans); Henry Leahy (Killmallock), Cormac O’Shea (Cappagh Kilcornan), Jack Breen (Fr Caseys).

Michael Fennelly on life without Kilkenny’s stars on the pitch and the sideline

Sean Cavanagh says Stephen O’Neill is the best footballer he has seen

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: