This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 2 °C Tuesday 22 January, 2019

5 changes for Waterford for tonight's Munster MHC semi final while Clare make one switch

Waterford go in search of three straight wins over Clare in two years.

Waterford players celebrate last September's famous win in Croke Park.
Waterford players celebrate last September's famous win in Croke Park.
Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

WATERFORD BOSS DEREK Lyons has made five changes for tonight’s Munster minor hurling semi-final against Clare in Dungarvan.

MJ Sutton and Colm Roche return from injury while Michael Cronin and Jack Mullaney are also introduced to defensive positions while Aaron O’Sullivan will start at full-forward.

David Prendergast, Shane Murray, Edmond O’Halloran, Joe Allen and captain Shane Ryan are the players to make way from the Deise side.

Five Waterford players who featured in last year’s All-Ireland minor final victory have been named in the team – centre-back Colm Roche, the half-forward line of Shane Bennett, Conor Gleeson and Cormac Curran, and corner-forward Patrick Curran.

Clare have made just the one change to their team with Ben O’Gorman coming in to start at right half-back in a move that generates a positional reshuffle and sees Liam O’Donovan make way.


1. Billy Nolan – Roanmore
2. Eddie Hayden – Ballygunner
3. M.J. Sutton – Ferrybank
4. Michael Cronin – Ardmore
5. Conor Prunty – Abbeyside/Ballinacourty
6. Colm Roche – Shamrocks
7. Jack Mullaney – Stradbally
8. Darragh Lyons – Dungarvan
9. Andy Molumby – Cappoquin
10. Shane Bennett – Ballysaggart
11. Conor Gleeson – Fourmilewater
12. Cormac Curran – Brickey Rangers
13. Peter Hogan – Ballygunner
14. Aaron O Sullivan – Cappoquin
15. Patrick Curran – Dungarvan ​


1. Jason Loughnane (Sixmilebridge)
2. Ciaran Cooney (O’Callaghan Mills)
3. Seamus Downey (Clonlara)
4. Rory Hayes (Wolfe Tones)
5. Ben O’Gorman (Wolfe Tones)
6. Darragh Walsh (Éire Óg)
7. Jason McCarthy (Inagh-Kilnamona)
8. David Fitzgerald (Inagh-Kilnamona)
9. Michael O’Malley (Kilmaley)
10. Ian Galvin (Clonlara)
11. Colin Corbett (Tulla)
12. Michael O’Shea (Smith O’Briens)
13. Padraic McNamara (Kilmaley)
14. Aaron Shanagher (Wolfe Tones)
15. Brian Guilfoyle (St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield)

Sky Sports to broadcast glamour hurling qualifier between Tipperary and Galway/Kilkenny

The Late Joe Show from Galway and 7 other great hurling comebacks

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel