Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership

Become A Member
Dublin: -1°C Friday 4 December 2020

Wexford hammer Kilkenny by 17 points to claim Leinster U21 hurling three-in-a-row

The home fans were celebrating tonight.

Image: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Wexford 4-17
Kilkenny 1-9

A STUNNING NIGHT for Wexford hurling on home soil as they thrashed Kilkenny by 17 points in the Bord Gáis Energy Leinster U21 final.

Victory continues Wexford’s stranglehold on this competition as they have run out champions for the third successive year.

Conor McDonald lived up to his billing with an exceptional scoring display as he fired 1-10.

McDonald won his third provincial medal at this level but is still eligible for the grade in 2016.

He hit the opening goal while James Cash, Andrew Kenny and Cathal Dunbar all found the net as well.

Kilkenny tore out of the blocks with Liam Hickey whipping an early goal to the net after just 13 seconds. Diarmuid Cody added a point soon after but that flying start was as positive as their evening got.

Wexford quickly recovered to trail 1-2 to 0-4 by the 10th minute and were in front 0-6 to 1-2 after the opening quarter. Then McDonald evaded the Kilkenny in the 19th minute to net and kickstart Wexford’s phase of dominance.

Conor McDonald celebrates at the final whistle Conor McDonald celebrates at the final whistle. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Two minutes later McDonald created the chance to James Cash to raise a green flag and Andrew Kenny flashed home a third goal in the 25th minute.

At the break Wexford were in front 3-8 to 1-4 and they piled on the misery for Kilkenny when Cash cleverly set Cathal Dunbar for the fourth goal moments after the interval.

Wexford cruised to victory from there on a hugely encouraging night for hurling in the county while it was a chastening experience for Kilkenny.

Simon Donohue and Liam Blanchfield Wexford's Simon Donohue and Kilkenny's Liam Blanchfield Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Scorers for Wexford: Conor McDonald 1-10 (0-6f), Cathal Dunbar 1-1, James Cash, Andrew Kenny 1-0 each, Kevin Foley 0-3, Jack O’Connor, Shane Murphy, Shane Kenny 0-1 each.

Scorers for Kilkenny: Liam Hickey 1-0, Conor Martin 0-3 (0-2f), Liam Blanchfield 0-2, Diarmuid Cody, Evan Cody, Sean Morrissey, Ciaran Ryan 0-1 each.


1. Oliver O’Leary (Buffers Alley)

2. Simon Donohoe (Shelmaliers)
3. Liam Ryan (Rapparees)
4. Eoin Conroy (Naomh Eanna)

5. Jim White (Oil Gate)
6. Padraig Foley (Crossabeg)
7. Jack O’Connor (St Martins)

8. Conor Devitt (Ballyfad)
9. Gavin Bailey (Ferns)

10. Andrew Kenny (Buffers Alley)
11. Kevin Foley (Rapparees)
12. James Cash (Shelmaliers)

13. Cathal Dunbar (Ballygarret)
14. Conor McDonald (Naomh Eanna)
15. Peter Sutton (Oulart)

Eoin Conroy lifts the trophy Eoin Conroy lifts the trophy. Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

17. Tony French (Adamstown) for Sutton (46)
21. Shane Murphy (St James Ramsgrange) for Bailey (47)
20. Sam Kelly (Crossabeg) for Cash (51)
23. Sean Kenny (Bunclody) for Ryan (57)
18. Sean Murphy (Buffers Alley) for Donohoe (59)

JJ Doyle Wexford U21 manager JJ Doyle Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO


1. Darren Brennan (St. Lachtains)

2. Evan Cody (Dicksboro) (Capt)
3. Conor Delaney (Erin’s Own)
4. Ciarán Wallace (Erin’s Own)

5. Jason Cleere (Bennettstbridge)
6. Enda Morrissey (Bennettsbridge)
7. Diarmuid Cody (James Stephens)

8. Paddy Deegan (O’Loughlin Gaels)
9. Willie Brennan (Fenians)

10. Mark Mansfield (Mullinavat)
11. Conor Martin (Emeralds)
12. Liam Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge)

13. Kevin Kenny (Dicksboro)
14. Chris Bolger (Clara)
15. Liam Hickey (St Lachtain’s)

24. James Maher (St. Lachtains) for Mansfield (22)
21. Sean Morrissey (Bennettsbridge) for Maher (half-time){
18. Brian Troy (Emeralds) for Cleere (36)
23. Cíaran Ryan (Rower/Inistioge) for Brennan (36)
22. Tom Phelan (Conahy Shamrocks) for Kevin Kenny (53)

Ref: John Keenan (Wicklow)

Kilkenny U21s scored inside 13 seconds tonight, but Wexford hit back with 3 in 5 minutes

Here’s the Louth team that will square off against Tipperary next Saturday

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel