Zebo one of three uncapped players in Ireland squad

Declan Kidney named most of his squad to tour New Zealand today, but there are still four spaces to be filled.

Image: ©INPHO/Billy Stickland

DECLAN FITZPATRICK, MIKE Sherry and Simon Zebo will be in with a shout of winning their first international caps this summer.

Declan Kidney named the trio in his squad to tour New Zealand this summer in a set of matches that will surely require all hands to the pump.

Brian O’Driscoll will lead the side as captain after missing out on the disappointing Six Nations campaign.

After an impressive season Ulster are contributing six players including Darren Cave, who will hope to make hay and add to his two caps as cover for O’Driscoll in the absence of Eoin O’Malley.

Kidney has left four spots open for ‘AN Other’ to fill positions at prop, second row, back row and scrum half in what will be a 33-man squad. Kidney will wait for news on the fitness of Chris Henry, Paul O’Connell, Tom Court and Isaac Boss.

Ireland squad: (Forwards) Rory Best, Sean Cronin, Stephen Ferris,  Declan Fitzpatrick*, Cian Healy, Jamie Heaslip, Sean O’Brien, Donncha O’Callaghan, Peter O’Mahony, Mike Ross, Donnacha Ryan, Mike Sherry*, Dan Tuohy.

(Backs) Darren Cave, Gordon D’Arcy, Keith Earls, Rob Kearney, Fergus McFadden, Conor Murray, Brian O’Driscoll (Capt), Ronan O’Gara, Eoin Reddan, Jonathan Sexton, Andrew Trimble, Simon Zebo*.

*denoted uncapped player

Opinion: Sean O’Brien could be ruined by persistence with No 7 role

Rory Best: Defeat has to make us stronger for next year

Rugby Analysis

Get Murray Kinsella's exclusive analysis on the URC interpros and Champions Cup clashes this December

Become a Member

About the author:

Sean Farrell

Read next: