The42 uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Thursday 26 April, 2018

14-man Dublin come from eight points down to clinch victory over Cork

James McCarthy hit the net in the closing moments to seal Dublin’s victory.

Dublin's Paul Flynn with Cork's Ian Maguire.
Dublin's Paul Flynn with Cork's Ian Maguire.
Image: Tommy Grealy/INPHO

Dublin 2-14
Cork 2-10

Fintan O’Toole reports from Croke Park

DESPITE TRAILING BY eight points at one juncture and having defender Johnny Cooper sent-off in the finale, Dublin clinched victory over Cork tonight to remain unbeaten in Division 1 of the Allianz football league.

Cork had made a brilliant start to the game with Colm O’Neill and Peter Kelleher hitting the net in the first-half.

Diarmuid Connolly raised a green flag for Dublin in the opening period yet Cork were in front 2-7 to 1-3 at the midway mark.

However Dublin took control in the second-half with Cormac Costello, who finished with 0-9, proving extremely influential with his accurate free-taking.

Costello’s 70th minute point nudged Dublin in front 1-14 to 2-10 and then James McCarthy accelerated clear for a marvellous goal in the last passage of play to seal Dublin’s success.

The first-half had seen Cork produce an excellent response after the 18-point loss they suffered at home to Roscommon last Sunday.

Colm O’Neill, drafted into the team, struck three points and captain Paul Kerrigan hit another to put them 0-4 to 0-0 in front inside the opening ten minutes.

And the situation looked more promising for Cork when O’Neill classily despatched a penalty to the net in the 20th minute after U21 attacker Peter Kelleher was fouled.

Colm O'Neill scores the first goal of the game with a penalty Colm O'Neill notched Cork's first goal of the game Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Dublin bounced back with Connolly drilling to the net two minutes later after a move involving Cooper, Cian O’Sullivan and Bernard Brogan.

But Cork were not deterred and pounced for a second goal in the 29th minute. O’Neill pumped in a long delivery and Kerrigan did brilliantly to keep the ball in play before squaring for Kelleher to palm in his third goal in two games.

Peter Kelleher celebrates scoring their second goal of the game Peter Kelleher celebrates scoring Cork's second goal of the game Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Cork were in front 2-7 to 1-3 yet were placed under pressure early on in the second-half as Dublin started to gain a foothold in the game.

Cork only managed to score three points in the second-half and the first of those came in the 62nd minute when Brian Hurley popped over a free. Dublin strung together nine points without reply after the break.

Diarmuid Connolly jokes with Brian O'Dirscoll Dublin's Diarmuid Connolly and Cork's Brian O'Driscoll Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Costello was responsible for seven of those, six from placed balls, and after his 57th minute point brought Dublin level, the Whitehall Colmcille club man bagged a brace to send Gavin’s team two clear with ten minutes remaining.

Cork dug in with Hurley and Deane bringing them level as they raised white flags while Cooper was shown a second yellow card for Dublin.

Jonny Cooper leaves the pitch after getting a red card Dublin defender Johnny Cooper leaves the pitch after getting a red card Source: Tommy Grealy/INPHO

In the 67th minute Costello kicked over a free before Mark Collins equalised for Cork with a quality score and then Costello restored Dublin’s advantage.

Cork pressed for a levelling score but were thwarted and McCarthy’s splendid goal clinched victory.

James McCarthy scores a late goal James McCarthy strikes a late goal for Dublin Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Scorers for Dublin: Cormac Costello 0-9 (0-8f), Diarmuid Connolly 1-3 (0-2f), James McCarthy 1-0, Paddy Andrews 0-2.

Scorers for Cork: Colm O’Neill 1-3 (1-0 pen, 0-2f), Peter Kelleher 1-0, Brian Hurley 0-2 (0-1f), Paul Kerrigan, Luke Connolly (0-1f), Colm O’Driscoll, Mark Collins, Ruairi Deane 0-1 each.

Paul Kerrigan and Mark Collins leave the pitch after the game A disappointed Cork captain Paul Kerrigan after the game Source: Tommy Grealy/INPHO


1. Michael Savage (St Vincent’s)

3. Johnny Cooper (Na Fianna)
2. Philly McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams)
4. David Byrne (Naomh Olaf)

5. James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)
6. Cian O’Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes)
7. Eric Lowndes (St Peregrines)

8. Brian Fenton (Raheny)
9. Emmet Ó Conghaile (Lucan Sarsfields)

10. Paul Flynn (Fingallians)
11. Diarmuid Connolly (St Vincent’s)
12. Ciaran Kilkenny (Castleknock)

13. Cormac Costello (Whitehall Colmcille)
14. Paddy Andrews (St Brigid’s)
15. Bernard Brogan (St Oliver Plunkett’s-Eoghand Ruadh)

26. John Small (Ballymun Kickhams) for Lowndes (half-time)
20. Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala) for Fenton (half-time)
18. Shane Carthy (Naomh Mearnóg) for Ó Conghaile (47)
24. Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams) for Brogan (49)
21. Kevin McManamon (St Judes) for Andrews (65)
19. Shane B. Carthy (St Vincent’s) for Flynn (71)


1. Micheál Aodh Martin (Nemo Rangers)

6. Jamie O’Sullivan (Bishopstown)
3. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)
19. Kevin Crowley (Millstreet)

5. Tomas Clancy (Fermoy)
7. Brian O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
8. Kevin O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)

9. Ian Maguire (St Finbarrs)
10. Sean Kiely (Ballincollig)

24. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)
12. Luke Connolly (Nemo Rangers)
2. Colm O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)

25. Colm O’Neill (Ballyclough)
14. Peter Kelleher (Kilmichael)
11. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers) – Captain

15. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven) for Kerrigan (blood) (31)
11. Kerrigan for Hurley (35)
13. Daniel Goulding (Éire Óg) for O’Neill (43)
22. Killian O’Hanlon (Kilshannig) for Kiely (50)
15. Hurley for Kevin O’Driscoll (54)
23. Ruairi Deane (Bantry Blues) for Connolly (57)
21. Andrew O’Sullivan (Castletownbere) for Kelleher (67)
17. Mark Collins (O’Donovan Rossa) for Kerrigan (70)

Referee: Paddy Neilan (Roscommon)

The42 is on Snapchat! Tap the button below on your phone to add!

6 goals in Croke Park as Dublin decisive victors and Cork’s relegation fears grow

Tipp’s Our Lady’s reach All-Ireland semi as Summerhill crowned Connacht champs

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next: