This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 17 °C Monday 20 August, 2018

Harty Cup champs Templemore make winning start as Rebel minors impress for Cork schools

The opening round of games in the Munster colleges competition took place today.

REIGNING ALL-IRELAND colleges champions Our Lady’s Templemore got this season’s Dr Harty Cup campaign off to a winning start in today’s opening round of games.

pjimage Victory for Our Lady's Templemore as Daire Connery stars for Gaelcholáiste Mhuire AG. Source: INPHO

The Tipperary school, who cruised to Dr Harty Cup glory last February for their first title win in 39 years and then won the All-Ireland final against St Kieran’s in March, had a point to spare today over Christian Brothers College in Clonmel with a 1-15 to 2-11 victory in their Group B tie.

Gearoid O’Connor hit the winning point for the Tipperary school and hit 0-9 in total, while Andrew Ormond scored 0-3 and James Devaney grabbed their only goal.

In the same group, goals from Gearoid Cahill and Colin Haugh helped St Flannan’s defeat Castletroy 2-11 to 0-10 in Sixmilebridge.

In Group C, last year’s beaten finalists St Colman’s had three points to spare against Blackwater CS in Ballyduff with the Roche twins, Eoin and Brian, influential along with the scoring input of David Lardner to secure a 0-14 to 0-11 win. John the Baptist won the all-Limerick clash against Kilmallock’s Coláiste Iosaef by 1-16 to 0-9.

Brian Roche and his twin brother Eoin lift the cup Brian and Eoin Roche after Cork's All-Ireland U17 title win in August. Source: Tommy Grealy/INPHO

In Group A, Midleton CBS were grateful to the input of their trio from the Cork minor team that reached the All-Ireland final in September – Liam O’Shea, Sean O’Leary Hayes and Ger Millerick – in their 1-21 to 0-12 victory against De La Salle in Bushy Park.

2016 champions Árdscoil Rís also made a forceful opening statement of intent in Kilmallock with a 21-point success against Charleville CBS.

Finally in Group D, Gaelcholáiste Mhuire AG claimed a narrow one-point win over Thurles CBS with Daire Connery and Shane Busteed impressing for the victors. Nenagh CBS also got off to a triumphant start in this group against Doon outfit Scoil Na Trionoide.

Here’s the full rundown of opening results:

Dr Harty Cup Round 1 results

Group A
Midleton CBS 1-21 De La Salle (Waterford) 0-12
Árdscoil Rís 3-23 Charleville CBS 0-9

Group B
Our Lady’s Templemore 1-15 CBC Cork 2-11
St Flannan’s (Ennis) 2-11 Castletroy College 0-10

Group C
John The Baptist CS 1-16 Coláiste Iosaef (Kilmallock) 0-9
St Colman’s (Fermoy) 0-14 Blackwater CS (Lismore) 0-11

Group D
Nenagh CBS 2-21 Scoil Na Trioniode Doon 3-13
Gaelcholáiste Mhuire AG 0-16 Thurles CBS 1-12

Subscribe to The42 podcasts here:

2013 Clare All-Ireland winning captain brings inter-county career to an end

GAA director general Páraic Duffy to retire next year

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Fintan O'Toole

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

    Leave a commentcancel