This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 16 °C Sunday 27 May, 2018

Tommy Walsh on the bench for Kerry on Sunday as Mayo bring back Ronaldson and Regan

Eamonn Fitzmaurice has gone with six of the side that started last September’s All-Ireland final.

Tommy Walsh will be back in a Kerry jersey this weekend for the first time since 2009.
Tommy Walsh will be back in a Kerry jersey this weekend for the first time since 2009.
Image: Donall Farmer/INPHO

TOMMY WALSH HAS been named among the substitutes for Kerry’s Allianz Football League opener against Mayo in Killarney on Sunday (2.00pm).

Walsh features in the Kerry panel for the first time since departing for a career in the AFL in 2009, with manager Eamonn Fitzmaurice opting to go with six of the side that started the Kingdom’s All-Ireland final win over Donegal last September.

Fionn Fitzgerald and Paul Murphy start in the half-back line, David Moran captains the team from midfield, Johnny Buckley is named at wing-forward, and Stephen O’Brien and Paul Geaney are in the full-forward line.

Fitzmaurice has a lengthy list of absentees. Killian Young has picked up a hamstring injury, while James O’Donoghue, Marc Ó Sé, Darran O’Sullivan, Aidan O’Mahony, Kieran Donaghy and Colm Cooper also feature on a list of 15 players who are unavailable.

Meanwhile, the Mayo team for the trip to Fitzgerald Stadium includes a mixture of experienced campaigners and fresh faces, as managers Noel Connolly and Pat Holmes have named seven of the team that started their All-Ireland semi-final replay defeat to Kerry last season.

Corner-back Keith Higgins captains the team, Robbie Hennelly is in goal, Lee Keegan starts at wing-back, Seamus O’Shea partners Donal Vaughan in midfield, while Kevin McLoughlin and Adam Gallagher are in the half-forward line.

There are notable recalls for Mayo of corner-forward duo Evan Regan and Mark Ronaldson.


1. Brendan Kealy (Kilcummin)

2. Pa Kilkenny (Glenbeigh/Glencar)
3. Mark Griffin (St Michaels/Foilmore)
4. Shane Enright (Tarbert)

5. Jonathan Lyne (Killarney Legion)
6. Fionn Fitzgerald (Dr Crokes)
7. Paul Murphy (Rathmore)

8. David Moran (Kerins O’Rahillys, captain)
9. Bryan Sheehan (St Marys)

10. Michael Geaney (Dingle)
11. Kieran O’Leary (Dr Crokes)
12. Johnny Buckley (Dr Crokes)

13. Stephen O’Brien (Kenmare)
14. Paul Geaney (Dingle)
15. Barry John Keane (Kerins O’Rahillys)


16. Shane Murphy (Kilcummin)
17. Jack Sherwood (Firies)
18. Daithi Casey (Dr Crokes)
19. Tommy Walsh (Kerins O’Rahilly’s)
20. Padraig O’Connor (Legion)
21. Thomas Hickey (Desmonds)
22. Philip O’Connor (Cordal)
23. Alan Fitzgerald (Castlegregory)
24. Jack Maguire (Listowel Emmets)
25. Conor Keane (Killarney Legion)

Maurice Deegan speaks with Mark Ronaldson 20/2/2011 Mark Ronaldson is back in the Mayo team for Sunday. Source: James Crombie


1. Robbie Hennelly (Breaffy)

2. Stephen Coen (Hollymount/Carramore)
3. Kevin Keane (Westport)
4. Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis, captain)

5. Lee Keegan (Westport)
6. Chris Barrett (Belmullet)
7. Patrick Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels)

8. Seamus O’Shea (Breaffy)
9. Donal Vaughan (Ballinrobe)

10. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)
11. Adam Gallagher (Mayo Gaels)
12. Jason Doherty (Burrishoole)

13. Evan Regan (Ballina Stephenites)
14. Alan Freeman (Aghamore)
15. Mark Ronaldson (Shrule/Glencorrib)

UCC, UL and WIT signalled their intentions in today’s Fitzgibbon Cup openers

Cork hurling and football bosses unveil their teams for this weekend’s action

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Paul Dollery

Read next:


This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic. Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy here before taking part.
write a comment

Leave a commentcancel