This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to provide services and advertising. By continuing to browse, you agree to the use of cookies described in our Cookies Policy. You may change your settings at any time but this may impact on the functionality of the site. To learn more see our Cookies Policy.
Dublin: 20 °C Thursday 28 May, 2020

10 All-Ireland final survivors in Donegal team to face Kerry

Just the one change to the team beaten by Monaghan as Hugh McFadden comes in

Donegal's Mark McHugh will be anxious to make up for lost time against Kerry
Donegal's Mark McHugh will be anxious to make up for lost time against Kerry
Image: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

DONEGAL WILL LINE out with ten survivors from the team beaten by Kerry in last year’s All-Ireland final for next Sunday’s Allianz Football League Division 1 rematch.

Mark McHugh, Christy Toye, Martin O’Reilly, Patrick McBrearty and Hugh McFadden are the men added to the side as the Ulster men look to avenge last September’s Croke Park defeat.

There is just one change to the team beaten by Monaghan last weekend, as McFadden replaces Eamonn Doherty.

Meanwhile, the Kerry team shows three changes in personnel and a number of positional changes from the side that lost to Cork in Round 4. 

Peter Crowley and Killian Young come in in place of Fionn Fitzgerald and Jack Sherwood in the half-back line, while up front, Paul Geaney replaces the injured Michael Geaney, who is suffering from a back strain.

Daithí Casey replaces Shane O’Callaghan in the match-day squad, while Kieran Donaghy captains the side.

Donegal team: 

1. Paul Durcan (The Four Masters)

2. Paddy McGrath (Ardara)
3. Neil McGee (Gweedore)
4. Éamonn McGee (Gweedore)

5. Frank McGlynn (Glenfin)
6. Karl Lacey (The Four Masters)
7. Mark McHugh (Chíll Chartha)

8. Neil Gallagher (Glenswilly)
9. Christy Toye (Naomh Mícheál)

10. Martin Reilly (Seán MacCumhaill’s)
11. Odhrán MacNiallais (Gweedore)
12. Ryan McHugh (Chíll Chartha)

13. Patrick McBrearty (Chíll Chartha)
14. Michael Murphy (Glenswilly)
15. Hugh McFadden (Na Cealla Beaga)


16. Michael Boyle (Termon)
17. Declan Walsh (Malin)
18. Anthony Thompson (Naomh Conaill)
19. Éamonn Doherty (Naomh Adhamhnáin)
20. Joe Gibbons (Glenswilly)
21. Martin McElhinney (Naomh Mícheál)
22. Gary McFadden (Glenswilly)
23. Colm McFadden (Naomh Mícheál)
24. Daniel McLaughlin (Naomh Mícheál)
25. Eoin McHugh (Chíll Chartha)
26. Eamonn Ward (Glenswilly)

Kerry team:

1. Brendan Kealy (Kilcummin)

2. Pa Kilkenny (Glenbeigh/Glencar)
3. Mark Griffin (St Michaels/Foilmore)
4. Paul Murphy (Rathmore)

5. Jonathan Lyne (Killarney Legion)
6. Peter Crowley (Laune Rangers)
7. Killian Young (Renard)

8. Anthony Maher (Duagh)
9. David Moran (Kerins O’Rahillys)

10. Stephen O’Brien (Kenmare)
11. Bryan Sheehan (St Marys)
12. Johnny Buckley (Dr Crokes)

13. Paul Geaney (Dingle)
14. Kieran Donaghy (C) (Austin Stacks)
15. Barry John Keane (Kerins O’Rahillys)


16. Brian Kelly (Killarney Legion)
17. Jack Sherwood (Firies)
18. Fionn Fitzgerald (Dr Crokes)
19. Tommy Walsh (Kerins O’Rahillys)
20. Alan Fitzgerald (Castlegregory)
21. Shane Enright (Tarbert)
22. Philip O’Connor (Cordal)
23. Paul O’Donoghue (St Marys)
24. Padraig O’Connor (Killarney Legion)
25. Kieran O’Leary (Dr Crokes)
26. Daithí Casey (Dr Crokes)

3 changes for Tyrone and one for Cork ahead of crunch weekend clash

5 new players come into Mayo team ahead of Dublin encounter

  • Share on Facebook
  • Email this article

About the author:

Jackie Cahill

Read next: