Alan O'Connor is back in the Cork starting line-up. James Crombie/INPHO
Shake It Up

Cork make 11 changes for Dublin rematch as O'Connor set for first start in 21 months

Cork take on Dublin in a challenge match on Sunday.

ALAN O’CONNOR WILL make his first start for Cork in 21 months in a senior football challenge match on Sunday afternoon.

Dublin are in the opposition corner to Cork in a game that takes place just two weeks after Cork were hammered by Jim Gavin’s side in the Division 1 football league final.

Cork have made several changes as 11 new players come into their starting line-up.

The inclusion of O’Connor, who recently emerged from retirement, is notable as he starts his first game for Cork since August 2013 when they lost the All-Ireland quarter-final to Dublin.

Other interesting selections are Ruairi Deane at midfield – who has been absent since tearing his cruciate in last summer’s Munster final – and goalkeeper Paddy O’Shea.

Ruairi Deane sustains an injury Ruairi Deane sustained a knee injury in last summer's Munster final. Cathal Noonan / INPHO Cathal Noonan / INPHO / INPHO

U21 players Stephen Cronin, Kevin Crowley and Peter Kelleher are handed starting berths at right corner-back, left corner-back and midfield respectively. Barry O’Driscoll, an established forward, is named to start at wing-back.

Stephen Cronin with Diarmuid Murtagh Stephen Cronin in action for Cork in last year's All-Ireland U21 football semi-final. Donall Farmer / INPHO Donall Farmer / INPHO / INPHO

Jamie O’Sullivan, Tomás Clancy (Fermoy), Conor Dorman and Colm O’Driscoll are the only players named from the side that started against Dublin in Croke Park last month.

The match takes places as part of ‘Clár Comóradh Sheáin Uí Shíocháin’ at the Cill Na Martra GAA club.


1. Paddy O’Shea (St. Vincents)

2. Stephen Cronin (Nemo Rangers)
3. Jamie O’Sullivan (Bishopstown)
4. Kevin Crowley (Millstreet)

5. Tomás Clancy (Fermoy)
6. Tom Clancy (Clonakilty)
7. Barry O’Driscoll (Nemo Rangers)

8. Alan O’Connor (St.Colums)
9. Ruairi Deane (Bantry Blues)

10. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers)
11. Conor Dorman (Bishopstown)
12. Colm O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)

13. Daniel Goulding (Éire Óg)
14. Peter Kelleher (Kilmichael)
15. John Hayes (Carbery Rangers)

16. Ken O’Halloran (Bishopstown)
17. Noel Galvin (Ballincollig)
18. Michael Shields (St Finbarrs)
19. Eoin Cadogan (Douglas)
20. James Loughrey (Mallow)
21. Brian O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
22. Kevin O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
23. Colm O’Neill (Ballyclough)
24. Fintan Goold (Macroom)
25. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)
26. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven)

Not considered for selection due to injury:
Ian Maguire
Patrick Kelly
Donncha O’Connor
John O’Rourke
Donal Óg Hodnett

There was one close encounter and two easy victories in Dublin SFC tonight

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.